Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
How lucky am I? This was my first attempt at a pie crust and I lucked out with the best recipe on the first try. Thank you! This is easy to prepare, and the crust bakes up beautiful and flakey with rave reviews saying it was the best blackberry pie my family had ever had. I used butter flavored shortening, and next time I may experiment with half butter just to get more of a buttery taste. Thank you !! :) No more rolled pre-packaged crusts for me !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Wonderful pie crust. The first time I made the crust exactly as listed. This time I used 1 1/2 cups of flour and about 2 table spoons more of shortening and increased the water as needed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
flaky and delicious. I freeze butter flavored shortening ahead of time. yummy. ingredient list is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe is perfect as it is written. I actually whiz the flour and salt in the food processor and then add the butter and whiz until it forms crumbs. I actually add the water to the food processor one Tbs. at a time, whizzing after adding each. It comes together perfectly every time. I spray some water on the counter and put a layer of plastic wrap down (the water makes it stick to the counter.) Then I dump the ball of dough out and put another layer of plastic wrap on top and roll it out. I've made it quite a few times so far and it's worked perfectly each time. Using the food processor it takes about 3 minutes if I have my ingredients gathered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Not as convenient as buying a pre-made, frozen pie shell, but this recipe is actually extremely easy, cheaper & tasty! I double the recipe & put the shortening & dry ingredients in a food processor, process on low 'til it starts to become flaky (roughly about a min, scrape the sides, then a min more). From there, I transfer to a bowl & toss with a fork, slowly adding water 'til it starts to stick (did not use all the water), then refrigerate for 30 min or so. I then cut the dough ball in half, roll each half out in-between 2 pieces of wax paper, & either use 1 immediately & freeze the other in a lightly oiled or dusted pie tin, or freeze both for later use. Usually use them within a week or 2 of freezing, & thaw on the counter at room temp for 15-20 minutes. Great for pot pie or quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Used butter with mine, but other than that, no changes. I will use this recipe instead of what I've been using. Also, read somewhere to grate the butter for mixing--what an awesome idea--it made it sooo much easier to mix up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I could not get this crust to hold its shape, no matter what I did. I wound up having to piece it together inside the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
my go-to pie crust every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkoeppen315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've used this recipe several times for quiche, and it always turns out flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Its true! Great dough to work with I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States