Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is one of the best and easiest I've ever tried. This gives my grandmother's recipe a run for its money, no doubt. I add 1 tbsp raw sugar just because I prefer a slightly sweet crust. I also roll out between two pieces of waxed paper or cling wrap. Makes transfer easy and clean-up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Easy and delicious. Used directions from kitchen aid recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I have used this pie crust at least 10 times now and it has never let my down. I use it for potpie a lot. I always double the recipe for a double crust and never have any problems. I was wondering if anyone has tried it with wheat flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Fantastic and simple ingredient crust. I do not think this crust is for a beginner, however, I did read a comment from someone who is a beginner (& it turned out great for him). Just trust the recipe.. it may seem dry, but once you play with it to roll it out, it gets soft. It comes out so flaky and delicious. It is also a vegan recipe, which is a total score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I use this every time I make a pie. Thank you so much for posting! So much better than store bought. Obviously not as easy but much better tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My first time ever making a pie crust, and it didn't fail! Family was pleasantly surprised by how flaky it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
great basic dough for pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I never thought that making your own pie crust was this easy. Seriously, I thought people slaved to make this stuff. After making this so many different ways with unsalted butter, salted butter, butter flavored shortening, vegetable shortening, and regular shortening, I would say that the regular shortening and the salted butter won out for me. I interchange them depending on what I have on hand. Also, for anyone who had a "crumbly" crust, just add more water. The two to three tablespoons is really a guideline because it shouldn't crumble when rolling, but don't over do it. A little at a time until it's not dry anymore!! Three tablespoons works for me, but sometimes I think I need four. It worked both times. And make sure your water is ICE cold. Hope this helps you, because this recipe is seriously AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was fantastic I could hardly believe I this was my baking! I can no longer say I cannot make crust.My husband was amazed (He has try'ed my prier attempt's at crust making)!! :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Super simple to make in the food processor and it tasted incredible. I added cinnamon to the dough because I used it to make an apple crisp. I will definitely make this again instead of buying pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States