Basic Easy Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is my choice for sauce with the recipe, but I deep fried the chicken. I was also told that the drummettes were better than the wings, so I get a big bag of those. To fry first, I mixed 1 cup of flour and added some salt and pepper. I heated oil in a cast iron pan to 375 with a thermometer and, after coating in flour, deep fried each batch until golden brown about 15 minutes flipping once. Then, I made the sauce as is on the recipe and drizzled over the wings. It makes 2 fried batches. But, by the way the people eat these when I make them it makes more like 3 servings instead of 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
maybe my husband used too hot a sauce from the jar (Hummer) - took the top of our heads off! Had to cut with more butter and some ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
try using sriracha sauce, it's an asian hot sauce that has a thicker consistency and pepper flakes in it. tastes just like regular hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
So, I have never made wings before (hot wing, buffalo wings - whichever you'd call these) and I decided I would start with a basic recipe. Wow, these wings are kicking! My mouth was still on fire about five minutes after I finished eating them! (But it could be the brand of hot sauce I used too) When coating them I did throw the wings into the pan with the sauce and added a bit of cornstarch to thicken it so the sauce would stick more. Otherwise, followed to a T and will definitely make these again if I want some hot wings in a hurry! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My family liked these a lot. I didn't change any ingredients. I did bake them in the oven at 350 for 35 minutes because it was to windy to grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
very easy and very good. served these for the superbowl along with the maple chicken wings and they were gone in a flash! thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great recipe. We have also used a similar recipe for chicken made on the rotisserie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
my husband and i love it. very easy recipe yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I couldn't believe how great these were, and I had no problem getting them nice and crispy on the grill (it was well worth standing outside in the cold 3 below zero today).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Gave this 4 stars as is . . . but would consider this a 5-star recipe with my variation . . . I add about 1/3 cup honey to the hot sauce/butter mixture. in addition to making the sauce taste really great, it will thicken the sauce and help it stick to the chicken. Such a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States