Basic Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Loved it! I must say the blending process was very crucial. You need a good blender for this, otherwise you won't get a creamy smooth paste, so don't try to cheapen out on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I've made this recipe twice, the first following the instructions exactly and the second completely skipping the food processor. It was fabulous either way. To answer the previous reviewer, these are the spices traditionally used in curry powder, so in a sense you are making your own in this recipe - Which, considering that, if you have curry powder on hand a lot of these spices could be omitted completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
not my favorite...I like my curry sweeter and more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Blizzard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
We used this sauce to go over boneless chicken breast pieces and green peas -- no complaints at all from my household. I wish I had used fresh spices (versus the ones sitting in my pantry for who knows how long) to boost the flavor, and I also noticed a lack of salt (it balances the heat and brings out the flavors), which we corrected at the table. In terms of ease, coming from someone who knows the labor intensity of preparing an authentic curry, this recipe was a relative breeze. Yet, overall, for me this curry was missing the "wow" factor that I'm used to achieving with Indian cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I make this recipe to serve as a dipping sauce for beef samosas. It is worth making for the fragrance alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This tasted like watery cumin broth :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This was ok but not spectacular. I prefer a more specific and authentic curry. i probably wouldnt make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Very time consuming, but the end result was great! We used pork with the curry sauce and served with basmati rice and naan. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This was very good. It was really my first experience with curry, so I didn't have anything to comapare it too. I really liked the cilantro flavor. I added more yogurt to make it a little creamier. I also used a premixed curry seasoning instead of the individual ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States