Basic Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This recipe is way more complicated than it has to be. Here's how I did it, same ingredients: I sauteed the onion until very brown, then added the ginger, garlic, and minced serrano for about two minutes. Then I added the tomatoes (diced), and cooked for about another two minutes. I stirred in all of the spices and cooked for another minute. I stirred in about 2 1/2 c water, used an immersion blender to blend it smooth, then whisked in the yogurt. Flavors were awesome! Very spicy (and we love spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I only used one pepper as it was a very spicy one, and as the recipe was (with chicken added) was too much spice and not enough enjoyment of thai flavors. I wasnt happy with it so I ended up adding 1/2 can coconut milk, bamboo shoots, chopped bell peppers, chicken and about a teaspoon of salt and served over a bed of jasmine rice with fresh chopped cilantro on top. I saw one comment that said this recipe was missing "curry" but I dont think they realized that what you are making is, in fact, curry! lol. I would just say be CAREFUL with peppers because it ended up being so spicy, other than that, a pretty good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I just finished making this blend. It tastes delicious. I wanted a curry for my pork,rice, and broccoli. This will work. I might add that I used Badia's curry powder in stead of making the spice mix from scratch. I compared the ingredients with the spice list. It was almost identical. It seems that many folks think curry is a spice and not a blend of spices. If you want to make adjustments to the spices you can do it from scratch but I am a lazy cook so I use the curry powder. If you like curry you'll love this blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe was great. Took much longer than anticipated... but was really fun to make. it was an interesting project. We also made a special rice to complement this recipe, a almond, raisin and basmati mix. It turned out really, really great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Four stars overall.....5 for taste, 3 for preparation steps and amount of water. I streamlined the prep by cooking the onions, peppers and tomatoes along with the garlic and ginger first. Blended it, added back to the pan, simmered and added the rest of the spices and 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. Also, I did add 1/4 tsp of baking soda to this to keep the tomatoes from curdling the yogurt. Add the yogurt last, stir til smooth and poured it over some chicken. Baked it in the oven and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was excellent! Tasted just like my Indian friend's home cooking. A little too hot for me, and I like spicy food. Next time I will reduce the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Exceptional flavor! We love Indian food and this curry will be a staple. I don't agree with the remarks that it is labor intensive: saute, 3 trips to the food processor (no cleaning in between) and boil. Voila! a very good, basic curry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was very, very tasty. I was very impressed with the depth of flavour of this recipe. I have to admit to making a small alteration--I left out the cayenne and the Serrano peppers. I would have loved this with the peppers, but I was making this for a group of nineteen 5-7 year olds, so I didn't want it to be spicy. I used this sauce on chicken and zucchini. All but two of the children, only one of whom had ever had curry before, came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Loved it! I must say the blending process was very crucial. You need a good blender for this, otherwise you won't get a creamy smooth paste, so don't try to cheapen out on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I've made this recipe twice, the first following the instructions exactly and the second completely skipping the food processor. It was fabulous either way. To answer the previous reviewer, these are the spices traditionally used in curry powder, so in a sense you are making your own in this recipe - Which, considering that, if you have curry powder on hand a lot of these spices could be omitted completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States