Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Great recipe, with ONE exception: I initially followed the directions to whisk the flour/eggs then add the wet ingredients, but this left me with VERY lumpy unusable batter. Doing the reverse - mixing the eggs & wet stuff then sifting in the flour - worked way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12445 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
BRILLIANT BASIC CREPES. This is a scrumptious recipe for thin, delicious German style pancakes. I'm a professional musician and recording artist, and I often find myself in the kitchens of recording studios, trying to make something edible from the staple ingredients studios keep in their kitchens. Well, this recipe is it!!! Everyone has milk, eggs, salt, butter, and flour in their kitchen, and these babies whip up like a charm! Even the batter will keep in the fridge for a few days. Personally, I like to throw in about a third cup of granulated sugar and a quarter cup of powdered sugar to make them sweet and a little crispy around the edges. Just be sure to put a fresh dab of butter in the pan before pouring the batter each time. I've tried countless pancake/crepe recipes, and nothing really impressed me until this one. I recommend it most enthusiastically! Christine Anderson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4028 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
MMM! best crepe recipe ever! one of my favorite breakfast recipes! I often make an apple cinnamon mixture (fry together 1 tbsp butter, 1 apple chopped fine, a pinch of each cinnamon and nutmeg, and 1 tbsp powdered sugar, until apple pieces are soft.) and roll it inside the crepes! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISTIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I had a hard time wrapping my brain around the flour + eggs, then other ingredients....so I just did what I always do....wet stuff blended, then dry stuff added to it. They have turned out great every time I have made them. A touch of sugar and vanilla makes great sweet crepes...some pepper and herbs make great veggie crepes. BOTH are great for breakfast! I almost always double or triple this recipe, and it keeps well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Wonderful! Two modifications: 1 t vanilla, and more water until the batter was "crepe" consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
705 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
super recipe! I live in Europe and got tired of buying the already prepared just add water mixes so I tried this one out! REALLY REALLY easy! I find a good trick if using a non stick pan is to shake it back and forth with the handle now and then- when the crepe begins to slip back and forth it is done on the primary side so you flip and really quickly do the other side or it gets rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
690 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUXEMBOURGAHOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I used this recipe for my french class for our Christmas party. I added to it thawed strawberries--whole and sliced, melted semi-sweet chocolate (and some unmelted on top!!), and a frosting consisting of powdered sugar, cream cheese, milk, and vanilla extract. It was such a hit, there were no complaints and the other teachers who got in on our festivities enjoyed them as well!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
My children love these! I too added Orange peel and Grand Marnier(SP?). I also let the batter sit for a couple of minutes after all the ingrediants were mixed together! We had them with powdered sugar and diffrent flavored jams! TO DIE FOR!!! Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is easy to make and good for the kids or even the husband to join in and help. I made a lot of this and wrapped it up in foil and glad and put it in the freezer. We used it up during the month. It was a convenient way to have crepes for breakfast without cooking in the kitchen for over half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These were really easy! I have made crepes before but they never came out this good. I am going to use this recipe over and over.I added a few tablespoons of sugar for a dessert crepe but will leave the sugar out when I use these as shells for manicotti for Christmas! I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States