Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I loved this recipe I bought a crepe flat teflon pan today with wooden roller and your recipe is the first I tried. My daughter yesterday told me crepes were her favourite.... I doubled the recipe and used mixer to mix eggs milk and water added tablespoon of vanilla sugar the salt and some powdered sugar and vanilla extract and finished with the flour and they came out amazing(about two thirds a cup per crepe. I even used stoneground "70" whole wheat flour (so had to add some more milk for consistency). They came out every bit as good as the bought ones (needed very little oil) I spread with nutella and folded like bought ones and then rolled some with apples fried in butter with cinnamon and sugar my kids and us loved them! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
A little bit to plain tasting for my palette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mischelle40
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This batter is too thick to be crepe batter. I had to add more liquid. It should be thin enough that you can swirl your pan quickly to cover the bottom before it begins to set. I also added a bit of sugar and a little vanilla because we prefer it that way. Once you get it thin enough, this makes really good batter. We lived in France for three years, and traditionally, they like it with cinnamon and sugar and melted butter, or filled with Nutella, or filled with bananas. We prefer it filled with a mixture of cream cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla and topped with homemade mixed berry topping. My youngest likes it with the filling and drizzled with chocolate syrup. To the person who said they could not see mixing the flower and eggs, you are right. The best way to mix this batter is to put all the ingredients into the blender, pulse until everything is nicely mixed, and then let the batter rest in the fridge for 1/2 hour to 1 hour, to allow excess air from mixing to escape. Overall, the taste is really good if you get the batter thinner. I would use this recipe again, with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
It's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Dace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Very good! My go to recipe for crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
my mom and dad where having compition of who can make the best crepe I beat I just beat them both
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I had never tried these before and thought they were super hard. Turns out they are super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Don't listen to the person below. Mixing the sifted flour and eggs first doesn't cause problems for me when cooking this. I've had no lumps. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Absolutely fantastic recipe. I would give it a 5 star for the ingredients and proportions but a 1 star for directions. Changes I made: added about 1 tsp of vanilla and 2 tsp of sugar to make it more of a breakfast crepe. For combining I followed another reviewers recommendations and combined the wet ingredients (minus the melted butter)and whisked until combined Then add the flour (which I spooned into the measuring cup so as not to make the batter to thick) and salt and whisk until no longer lumpy Finally add the melted butter and combine. This results in a lump free batter that is the perfect consistency for crepes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States