Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Pretty spot on. Nice, eggy, filling crepes! We ended up adding a little more liquid to thin them so they would spread better. A bigger skillet really helps create a nicer, thinner crepe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sbisio
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was easy to make and really good. It was a hit. We filled them with fresh cut strawberries and topped it with blueberry syrup made by my son
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I agree with the comment above that for even decent results you have to whisk the eggs and milk together first, then add the flour. Also every recipe should include the fact that the best results don't happen by adding an exact measured amount of flour. it's best to add the flour a bit at a time until it coats the whisk more on the thin side for very thin "crepes" and a thicker coating for more substantial ones. PLUS, the most important omission is that it possibly originated in Czechoslovakia as Palacinky and is a mainstay of Viennese cuisine as Palatschenke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Hammack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Super easy and versatile! You can make a batch of the batter in about 5 minutes and fill it with whatever you have in your kitchen. I've done savory crepes using leftover deli meat and cheese, or fill them with jam or nutella for something sweet. Really great and quick. I followed the advice of other reviews and mixed the wet ingredients before adding the flour. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Gibbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a2zpets
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I am sort of new to cooking. And i bought a crepe pan. This is the first thing i tried. I put on some Nutella and boy were my kids happy. I also did the seond time addinf sifted flour to the liquids to get rid of the clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorraine Reddick
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Through in some fruit with this recipe and presto! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Reddick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Mixed wet ingredients 1st, added dry and lastly butter. Also added 1tsp vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I'm in complete agreement with everyone else . . . mixing the flour and eggs together -- bad idea. I was able to salvage the recipe in spite of the huge, heavy doughy lumps that initially formed and did not want to break down in the milk/water additions, but eventually it all worked out. I will mix the eggs into the water/milk next time and then add to the flour. All in all, very tasty crepes . . . light with just the right sponginess. I served them with strawberry compote, whipped cream and a sprinkle of powdered sugar and cinnamon. They were delish! This recipe, with one minor modification, is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wiserdays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I tryed this for the first time today,I put chocolate pudding and apples in the middle topped with butter sugar and cinnamon. Then I put egg and cheese in another crepe that was my fave,of course my kids loved the dessert ones.My first two didn't turn out so good but the rest was great.I did add sugar and vanilla in the batter mix,I followed the sweet version in my all recipes magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
MODIFICATIONS: Use 1 cup Milk instead of milk and water. Add 1 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. PERFECT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States