Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is great. I picked it because of another review by a chef that instructed using butter instead of oil in the batter so that the crepes carmelize. Additionally this review mentioned that sifting(therby aerating the flour)'is a must and the pan should be hot. All tips right on the money. A big thank you to the person with these tips. While this is a great recipe, not specifying either weight or sifting for the flour used will make for very mixed results. A couple of my own tips: - I used a stainless steel pan, heated it up to medium hot(water sizzles but pan is not smoking). Getting the right pan is tricky. Use Pam for the first one and for further crepes only as necesary. - Use a pan you can actually pick up to roll while spreading the batter. Be prepared to roll the pan as you pour the batter. I found that pouring the batter towards the edge of the pan away from you is best and tilt the pan towards you when you pour - this makes the crepe thinner and more even. - Keep some water next to you when making the crepes. You may need to thin the batter to get to the crepes right. Add water a tablespoon at a time. Before you pour the batter into the pan, mix the batter each time - it will thicken at the bottom. Lastly, don't bother with the multi-step mixing process - just put all ingredients in a bowl and mix with a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are perfect, every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
just right I stuffed with nutela and banana slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
A good recipe to start with. Although they came out thicker than I would have liked, I think next time I will add more milk and water, and also I think it would have been better to mix all of the eggs, milk, water, and butter first then add the salt and flour slowly. That way it isn't so lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as a first attempt at crepes. Was easy to make and tasted good although I did make some changes based on people’s comments. I mixed dry ingredients separately from wet them blended all together at once. Added 1/8 C each of sugar and powdered sugar. If you don’t like a slightly sweet taste I would leave the sugar out. In summary a good first experience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Amazing recipe! The only thing I did differently was adding a half cup of Splenda (or sugar), and a capful of vanilla (about a tsp). Today, I'm going to add some cocoa powder to the batter and put bananas in the middle of some and orange slices in others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe!! Just mix all the wet ingredients together, then add flour or you get a lumpy batter, some people suggest adding sugar, but i recommend you do not, as if you make it a dessert crepe, it will be too sweet if sugar is added. I make mine by spreading Nutella, graham cracker cookie(crumbled up) and sliced bananas, roll and add a dollop of whipped cream on top! Makes a great dessert, My kids love it!! Quick and easy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I followed the steps exactly and got a tasteless lumpy batter and crepe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
We loved this recipe! I used the blender and put all the wet ingredients in first to keep the dry stuff from sticking on the bottom. Since we were doing more of a sweet than savory I added 1 T sugar and a splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bendis1e

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States