Basic Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
I used this recipe on a coworker's going away party cake. This pairs very nicely with the strawberry cake that our "interoffice intelligence team" aka "the busy bodies" told me was her favorite. At first I was scared that it was too runny. It really does have the consistency of fruit dip, but because of that it spread very well and, surprisingly, if did not slide off the sides of the cake. I was not taking any chances though. Once I finished icing the cake I kept it refrigerated until serving and it continued to hold for the hour+ we were sitting in the conference room. The only super minor change I made was using a half tablespoon of vanilla extract and a half teaspoon of lemon juice. This made me feel like we were having cheesecake icing. I got lots of compliments on the icing. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
So easy and my husband LOVED it. So much better than the premade stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Very simple and easy to make plus it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Have looked a long time for a good cream cheese frosting and this is definitely the best I have had. Very creamy with good cream cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very easy and nice consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
delicious! I put in sliiiightly less sugar, but even mixing this by hand made for an amazing topping for my dark chocolate cupcakes. Very easy and crowd-pleasing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Extremely pleased with this recipe. I will continue to make this again and again for those fall recipe breads/cakes in particular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This recipe is really easy and it's good. My two favorite things in a recipe. I used it as an icing for a gluten-free banana cake (actually it's a recipe for banana bread but it calls for a gluten-free yellow cake mix so I call it a cake). It was delicious. It was a little too sweet for my husband which is why I gave it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I did cut the sugar down by 1/2. Still a great frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Worked great for us. Adjust sugar for taste and consistency desired. Very easy. Makes A LOT. I iced 24 cupcakes (not piped, but generously swirled) and I could probably do 24 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States