Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I'm so confused! I was excited to find a "basic" recipe that I could jazz up myself...I added minced jalapeno, shredded zuchini, diced roasted red peppers, chives, onion powder, paprika, cayenne, and grated extra-old cheddar....they looked and smelled amazing, and then I took a bite....and they were BLAND! I have no idea how this happened...the only thing I can think of is that they need WAY more salt. Sigh...it's like a bad prank that I added so much flavour and they seemed to magically make it disappear. Maybe next time...this recipe is a good base in that they had a good texture and consistency...thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This simple and easy recipe is a favorite in our home. I stir a can of corn kernals into the batter and it adds a good burst of favor in every bite. I make these muffins for my son to pack in his backpack to take to school for snack time. It is cheaper and healthier than other store-bought snack foods that are processed, such as granola bars, and it is convenient to bake up a batch for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was definitely a basic recipe. It didn't specific which type of corn meal to use (white or yellow), so I used yellow. It didn't taste as sweet as I had liked, but with a spread of honey butter, it was pretty delicious. I made these to go with the "Easy Chili I" recipe so I'm sure they will be a perfect match, but as a standalone muffin, I think I prefer one with actual pieces of corn inside to add flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Made a half recipe today. Came together quick and easy. The flavor was a little bland, but could easily be jazzed up. Very basic recipe and a good foundation to build off of. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iluvsunandsand
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
i loved this muffins but I did make some adjustments. I used soymilk, used organic cane sugar, egg replacer, soft whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and, 1/3 cup of Earth's Balance vegan butter sticks instead of the canola oil and omitted the salt since the Earth's Balance has salt in it. I also added some aged cheddar cheese in the batter and on the top as the muffins half way through baking. The results were a crispy cheddar top and a most cakey inside. The muffin was just barely sweet, but exactly how I wanted it. Next time I will add jalapenos and some garlic to make them savory.I recommend this recipe, not at all dry like some recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvsunandsand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Doubled the recipe added 1 package of ocean spray fresh cranberries and OMG they are fabulous! Made 1 dozen texas sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
It's simple, quick to make and delicious. Definitely a keeper. The only thing I added was 1tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Follow the recipe to a T and you will love them - came out perfect, moist and very tasty. So quick to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Needed to make it sugar free and wheat free so I replaced the all purpose flour with brown rice flour, added 1/2 tsp guar gum to bind, used 1/3 cup maple syrup in place of sugar, kept oil at 1/4 cup (safflower) but reduced the milk by 2 TBS to account for added liquid of maple syrup. Also, was out of milk, so used plain rice milk (365 brand, unsweetened). Baked for 18 minutes. They came out surprisingly tasty and moist, especially given all the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States