Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was easy to make and my family enjoyed it. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that it was nothing special, didn't stand out much, wasn't the best this I've ever tasted. I was doubling the recipe and I accidently put in three eggs instead of two, but didn't notice it. Will save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
So easy to make and very tasty! I had to use soy milk due to allergies, so I am not sure of the difference it made, but will be making them again for sure. My oven is a little hotter so I reduced the temperature to 390 and after 13 minutes they were ready. Will be serving them alongside Turkey Chili tonight. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made 1/2 of a recipe for the two of us and we thought they were very good. I substituted melted Smart Balance for the oil, but otherwise used the recipe as given. Another reviewer suggested using buttermilk in place of the milk, so will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my! These corn muffins are fabulous and while the title implies "basic" or simple, I have to say they're simply delicious and a great base for whatever whatever add-in suites your tastebuds. Being that this was my first time making these I went the pure route. I did however use 1 1/4 cup of cornmeal and 3/4 cup of flour, veg. oil (no canola on hand) and subbed buttermilk for the regualr milk. The result was nothing less than a wonderful, moist muffin that melts in your mouth. These would be great as a side to BBQ pork, chili, soups, and stews. The leftovers were equally good with butter and jelly in the morning with a cup of tea. Thanks Doug for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
AWESOME! My husband says these are restaurant worthy. I added wheat bran and 1 tsp buttermilk powder--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
So easy and tasty too. Made this recipe in a square pyrex pan, cooked 20 mins and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Quick, easy, and tasty corn muffin recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great Muffins. Easy. We made them in the regular muffin pans, but had more left over, so we made the rest in the Redi-Set-Go for 7 minutes each. Worked like a charm. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Pretty good. Basic, as the title says. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup because I planned on serving honey butter with these (2-3 tablespoons of butter mixed with 1-2 teaspoons of honey). I also upped the amount of corn meal to 1 and 1/4 cups total. This is a good base recipe. You could omit the sugar and add cheddar and jalapenos. Or, you could substitute honey for the sugar. This recipe made about 30 mini-muffins. Baked at 12 minutes total. Also, next time I will butter the pan instead of using PAM. Butter gives the small muffins a better flavor in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent! I used 1/2 white flour, 1/2 whole wheat. I added dried cherries and an extra tablespoon of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States