Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
these turned out very dry. I follwed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I give this 4 stars for the 'basic' base. I made them as written without changing anything as I tend to be a purist and make it like it says first, then go from there. It turned out 'ok', not spectacular, but just ok. I only got 10 muffins out of the batch too and that was a stretch to equally divvy up. The only thing that you could say I did different was to soak the cornmeal in milk for about 10 minutes (I read other recipes stating people had done that), not sure if it made a difference but I would think it would help to soften up the cornmeal so it isn't that 'gritty'. They are a bland muffin that definitely needs some zing, so next time I am adding jalapenos and jack cheddar to them. I served them with Buffalo Wing Chicken pieces and a caesar salad. You do need something to help soak into them otherwise your reaching for water because of their dry texture. Thanks for the recipe Doug, will modify future batches. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great basic recipe, which I jazzed up by adding 1/2 cup shredded monterey jack cheese and 1 large jalapeno, finely chopped (sort of a "Mexican" corn muffin, if you will). The cheese really moistened the muffin and the jalapeno adds a nice kick to every bite. My only complaint is that I only got 10 muffins out of the recipe, which I thought was odd. Next time I'll add a little more cornmeal and flour to try to stretch the recipe. Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Demarest, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I give these muffins 5 stars based on the simplicity of the recipe and the taste. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and I have used sour cream with great success. I also bake at 375 and my muffins are usually moist with great flavor. I make these often and the recipe has earned a permanent place in my recipe box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The only change I made was to use 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter in place of the oil. My batch was golden in just under 15 minutes, with a perfect texture and not too sweet. I plan to serve them this weekend with Laura's Quick Slowcooker Turkey Chili. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenOfTarts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
AWESOME and SO EASY to make! I could not believe how beautifully they baked. When I peeked in, I was taken by surprise. I had forgotten to beat the egg first, so I thought I messed up; not so, they couldn't have been more delicious, just the right sweetness and moistness. This is a real favorite. Thanks Doug for sharing your AWESOME, EASY recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Good, but not the best. I wish I would have used butter instead of oil to add a little more buttery flavor to the muffins. Overall, they were good with our stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I've made these a few times, and they have always turned out good. I add a little extra sugar, but that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Quick and easy. I substituted extra virgin coconut oil for the canola oil, and instead of 2 tsp baking powder I used 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of cream of tartar. Muffins came out light and fluffy and they taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very moist and not too sweet. If fill each muffin cup about 1/2 way, it makes 12 muffins. I baked for 19-20 minutes. Thanks for the simple and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States