Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I give these muffins 5 stars based on the simplicity of the recipe and the taste. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and I have used sour cream with great success. I also bake at 375 and my muffins are usually moist with great flavor. I make these often and the recipe has earned a permanent place in my recipe box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The only change I made was to use 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter in place of the oil. My batch was golden in just under 15 minutes, with a perfect texture and not too sweet. I plan to serve them this weekend with Laura's Quick Slowcooker Turkey Chili. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenOfTarts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
AWESOME and SO EASY to make! I could not believe how beautifully they baked. When I peeked in, I was taken by surprise. I had forgotten to beat the egg first, so I thought I messed up; not so, they couldn't have been more delicious, just the right sweetness and moistness. This is a real favorite. Thanks Doug for sharing your AWESOME, EASY recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Good, but not the best. I wish I would have used butter instead of oil to add a little more buttery flavor to the muffins. Overall, they were good with our stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I've made these a few times, and they have always turned out good. I add a little extra sugar, but that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Quick and easy. I substituted extra virgin coconut oil for the canola oil, and instead of 2 tsp baking powder I used 1/2 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of cream of tartar. Muffins came out light and fluffy and they taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very moist and not too sweet. If fill each muffin cup about 1/2 way, it makes 12 muffins. I baked for 19-20 minutes. Thanks for the simple and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly (but for the addition of about 1 tsp of cayenne pepper), and they came out great. Will definitely make these time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
A little dry & bland.... needs more sweetness. Didn't rise quite as much as a boxed pkg would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Thanks, Doug, this corn bread was a great foil to serve along side spicy red beans and rice. While the level of sweetness was right on the mark, I was missing that buttery-ness only real buttah can provide. But with its endless variations, this base recipe is one on which to rely -- over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States