Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Pretty good. Basic, as the title says. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup because I planned on serving honey butter with these (2-3 tablespoons of butter mixed with 1-2 teaspoons of honey). I also upped the amount of corn meal to 1 and 1/4 cups total. This is a good base recipe. You could omit the sugar and add cheddar and jalapenos. Or, you could substitute honey for the sugar. This recipe made about 30 mini-muffins. Baked at 12 minutes total. Also, next time I will butter the pan instead of using PAM. Butter gives the small muffins a better flavor in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent! I used 1/2 white flour, 1/2 whole wheat. I added dried cherries and an extra tablespoon of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I didn't have any butter in the house. I didn't have buttermilk. I didn't have self-rising cornmeal (never even heard of it! Guess I'm not southern...). But the ingredients for this recipe were all right in my pantry and the results got raves. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fraudrk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Town, Maine, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. I stuck to the basic one. They look just like the picture. They are not very 'corny'. I might add more corn meal or a can of creamed corn next time. But most importantly, my teenagers love them so what else matters?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yummy!! I love corn bread and this recipe makes a nice moist muffin. I however, do not like mine real sweet so I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and used brown sugar. This is definately going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I added some chopped onion because that's the way I like my muffins, and they came out PERFECT. Better than mum's (sorry Mum!). The texture is spot on, and the flavor is succulent. My new go-to corn muffin recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
So yummy and so easy to make! I would definitely reccommend people try this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
WOW! Sure, they're basic in that they have your typical ingredients of a standard corn muffin, but this is super quick and easy and yields great results! My *ONLY* complaint is that it says spray or line the muffin tin... well, I chose to line and I should've sprayed too...so a good chunck of the muffin bases got stuck, darn it! I followed Doug's tip of using buttermilk, only because I ran out of milk and had powdered buttermilk on hand. Light and tender - wonderful with honey and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is simple and a great base for adding additional flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
At first, I didn't care for these muffins... then, they cooled down a bit and the edges became crispy and crunchy and the sweetness really came through. Yum! I am so pleased they turned out better than what I thought they had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States