Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my! These corn muffins are fabulous and while the title implies "basic" or simple, I have to say they're simply delicious and a great base for whatever whatever add-in suites your tastebuds. Being that this was my first time making these I went the pure route. I did however use 1 1/4 cup of cornmeal and 3/4 cup of flour, veg. oil (no canola on hand) and subbed buttermilk for the regualr milk. The result was nothing less than a wonderful, moist muffin that melts in your mouth. These would be great as a side to BBQ pork, chili, soups, and stews. The leftovers were equally good with butter and jelly in the morning with a cup of tea. Thanks Doug for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
AWESOME! My husband says these are restaurant worthy. I added wheat bran and 1 tsp buttermilk powder--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
So easy and tasty too. Made this recipe in a square pyrex pan, cooked 20 mins and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Quick, easy, and tasty corn muffin recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great Muffins. Easy. We made them in the regular muffin pans, but had more left over, so we made the rest in the Redi-Set-Go for 7 minutes each. Worked like a charm. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Pretty good. Basic, as the title says. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup because I planned on serving honey butter with these (2-3 tablespoons of butter mixed with 1-2 teaspoons of honey). I also upped the amount of corn meal to 1 and 1/4 cups total. This is a good base recipe. You could omit the sugar and add cheddar and jalapenos. Or, you could substitute honey for the sugar. This recipe made about 30 mini-muffins. Baked at 12 minutes total. Also, next time I will butter the pan instead of using PAM. Butter gives the small muffins a better flavor in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent! I used 1/2 white flour, 1/2 whole wheat. I added dried cherries and an extra tablespoon of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I didn't have any butter in the house. I didn't have buttermilk. I didn't have self-rising cornmeal (never even heard of it! Guess I'm not southern...). But the ingredients for this recipe were all right in my pantry and the results got raves. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fraudrk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Town, Maine, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. I stuck to the basic one. They look just like the picture. They are not very 'corny'. I might add more corn meal or a can of creamed corn next time. But most importantly, my teenagers love them so what else matters?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yummy!! I love corn bread and this recipe makes a nice moist muffin. I however, do not like mine real sweet so I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and used brown sugar. This is definately going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States