Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great basic recipe! Love adding in green onions and corn when we're in the mood. But when we're in a rush, this alone will do! Not too dry for us at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Overall decent cornbread muffins. It was a little tasteless I added a drizzle of butter and more sugar...and it still did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe! I made a slight change to the addition of the ingredients based upon past results working with cornmeal. In a 2 cup mixing cup, add the cornmeal to the milk and allow to soak for 5-10 minutes. Add the egg and stir in with a fork. Then add the oil and stir in with same fork. THEN add this to the rest of the dry ingredients. We baked for approximately 21 minutes and then put them under HI broil for 2 minutes to brown up the tops. FLAWLESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My family loved it, it was simple and very good. It was delicious, and easy to make,. I served it with chili. I will use this as my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria A Rosario
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I love this recipe!!! Doug Matthews, thank you!!! I followed your variation and then, borrowed from Jillian's review (thanks Jillian); I used unbleached self-rising flour (although, I probably still could have used a tsp of baking powder, because they didn't really rise a lot) but boy are they delicious and moist. I added about a 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and added a 1/2 cup of blueberries!!! Wonderful!!! Made me very happy. This is such a simple/easy recipe. And to use regular milk and vegetable oil - I couldn't have been happier...Thanks so much again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria A Rosario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Loved this easy recipe - and I "butchered" it! I used polenta (coarse grits), dried egg & nonfat dried milk. I did add an extra 1/8c water & let the batter sit 10 minutes to insure the large cornmeal absorbed enough to be moist. I used an 8x10 Pyrex (sprayed) pan & baked it in the toaster oven. I like a thinner slab of bread, so the honey butter can really shine! Addictive for me, my friend (who had more for "dessert" instead of fresh made PB cookies!) and the parrot. Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe many times. Occasionally I stir in a drained can of whole corn or mix a can of chopped green chili. I find it very interesting that a few reviewers complain of dry and crumbly muffins. Have they not given thought that over cooking in a 400 degree oven has very drying effects? The recipe states 15 to 20 minutes not Oh darn I forgot I forgot to set the timer. I have never had dry muffins. BTW I add 1 1/2 cups corn meal to 1/2 cup flour and 1 cup of buttermilk made from milk and vinegar. From Sniggibb in Las Vegas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazardville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Love these i made this for my kids school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States