Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie 2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
very good! to make it a little richer i added a full bunch of parsley, several cloves of garlic, and bouquet garni- perfect ona cold day!- even by itself- but i added mini egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I use this recipe often. I make it with a whole chicken instead of parts and use the cooked meat in other recipes. I double the ingredients (omitting the salt) and use enough water to cover the chicken by an inch or so in an 8 quart stockpot. Once cool, I freeze in individual containers. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is fantastic. I combined this recipe with a soup recipe I had (b/c I was too lazy to make stock and THEN soup) and made the following changes: no cloves, salted to taste (with kosher salt), didn't clarify, doubled the recipe, used 5 carrots, 5 big potatoes, 4 bay leaves, a chicken carcass (I removed the legs and breasts for another recipe), 2 wings, 2 breasts, and two parsnips (1 big, 1 small). I added the potatoes (cut in .75-1 inch chunks) after simmering the soup for 1 hour. They were done after 20-30 minutes of simmering. Then I flaked any meat off the bones, returned the meat to the soup, and discarded the bones. This makes a fabulous soup. I'll definitely repeat it and probably try adding egg noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. Next time i may add some garlic and a bay leaf. (Only to enhance... not to make better.) I didn't need to clarify but I did skim the fat off the top once it cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have never made soup stock before. I really expected this to taste like flavored water, but it is fabulous. I can't believe how good it is. Trust me, if I can make it, anyone can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Sexson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Wonderful...nothing makes you feel better than cooking good, quality, homemade food! The stock was wonderful for my chicken and noodles. I used chicken legs, and de-boned the meat. Yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
It is cheaper to buy a low sodium stock than to make this. The instructions to clearify the stock are great, but that is the highest praise I can give it. After it had simmered for an hour it still tasted like salt water, so I let it sinner for 2.5 hours. The stock cooked down, but it wasn't very flavorful. I won't waste my tine with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Perfect, basic chicken stock. It was my first time making chicken stock, and the cloves threw me off. But it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was fantastic! I didn't clarify it. I stuck it in the fridge and after the fat got hard I picked it off and tossed it. I didn't need it to be clear. The flavor was outstanding! I didn't know it could be so easy to make stock/broth. I may never use store bought again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States