Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good recipe, I did add fresh parsley form my garden, only cause my family loves in chicken soup. I am planning on canning this broth so I have it on hand this winter for soups. Won't be buying store bought broth anymore :) Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This recipe is great, except for the cloves. They give a weird taste to the broth. I have made it several times substituting peppercorns for the cloves. Then it is a lovely clear broth great for soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I added some yellow food coloring so it would look as good as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie 2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
very good! to make it a little richer i added a full bunch of parsley, several cloves of garlic, and bouquet garni- perfect ona cold day!- even by itself- but i added mini egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I use this recipe often. I make it with a whole chicken instead of parts and use the cooked meat in other recipes. I double the ingredients (omitting the salt) and use enough water to cover the chicken by an inch or so in an 8 quart stockpot. Once cool, I freeze in individual containers. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is fantastic. I combined this recipe with a soup recipe I had (b/c I was too lazy to make stock and THEN soup) and made the following changes: no cloves, salted to taste (with kosher salt), didn't clarify, doubled the recipe, used 5 carrots, 5 big potatoes, 4 bay leaves, a chicken carcass (I removed the legs and breasts for another recipe), 2 wings, 2 breasts, and two parsnips (1 big, 1 small). I added the potatoes (cut in .75-1 inch chunks) after simmering the soup for 1 hour. They were done after 20-30 minutes of simmering. Then I flaked any meat off the bones, returned the meat to the soup, and discarded the bones. This makes a fabulous soup. I'll definitely repeat it and probably try adding egg noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. Next time i may add some garlic and a bay leaf. (Only to enhance... not to make better.) I didn't need to clarify but I did skim the fat off the top once it cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have never made soup stock before. I really expected this to taste like flavored water, but it is fabulous. I can't believe how good it is. Trust me, if I can make it, anyone can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Sexson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Wonderful...nothing makes you feel better than cooking good, quality, homemade food! The stock was wonderful for my chicken and noodles. I used chicken legs, and de-boned the meat. Yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States