Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
very good! to make it a little richer i added a full bunch of parsley, several cloves of garlic, and bouquet garni- perfect ona cold day!- even by itself- but i added mini egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I use this recipe often. I make it with a whole chicken instead of parts and use the cooked meat in other recipes. I double the ingredients (omitting the salt) and use enough water to cover the chicken by an inch or so in an 8 quart stockpot. Once cool, I freeze in individual containers. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is fantastic. I combined this recipe with a soup recipe I had (b/c I was too lazy to make stock and THEN soup) and made the following changes: no cloves, salted to taste (with kosher salt), didn't clarify, doubled the recipe, used 5 carrots, 5 big potatoes, 4 bay leaves, a chicken carcass (I removed the legs and breasts for another recipe), 2 wings, 2 breasts, and two parsnips (1 big, 1 small). I added the potatoes (cut in .75-1 inch chunks) after simmering the soup for 1 hour. They were done after 20-30 minutes of simmering. Then I flaked any meat off the bones, returned the meat to the soup, and discarded the bones. This makes a fabulous soup. I'll definitely repeat it and probably try adding egg noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. Next time i may add some garlic and a bay leaf. (Only to enhance... not to make better.) I didn't need to clarify but I did skim the fat off the top once it cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have never made soup stock before. I really expected this to taste like flavored water, but it is fabulous. I can't believe how good it is. Trust me, if I can make it, anyone can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Wonderful...nothing makes you feel better than cooking good, quality, homemade food! The stock was wonderful for my chicken and noodles. I used chicken legs, and de-boned the meat. Yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
It is cheaper to buy a low sodium stock than to make this. The instructions to clearify the stock are great, but that is the highest praise I can give it. After it had simmered for an hour it still tasted like salt water, so I let it sinner for 2.5 hours. The stock cooked down, but it wasn't very flavorful. I won't waste my tine with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Perfect, basic chicken stock. It was my first time making chicken stock, and the cloves threw me off. But it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was fantastic! I didn't clarify it. I stuck it in the fridge and after the fat got hard I picked it off and tossed it. I didn't need it to be clear. The flavor was outstanding! I didn't know it could be so easy to make stock/broth. I may never use store bought again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I haven't used this recipe yet (but I couldn't post without a star rating so I gave it a 4 because it's so similar to how I make stock) but when I make chicken stock I strain it using a jelly bag. Gets out the tiny little flecks of herb particles so I get a nice clear stock. It also takes out a lot of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States