Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I knew I wanted to make stock, but I had no idea what to do. This was a great starter recipe. I only used 1/2 an onion (skin on), added 2 cloves of garlic, and omitted the cloves. I simmered for 1 hour uncovered, 2 hours covered. I cooled and refrigerated, skimmed the fat off and repeated. I did this 3 times until there was almost no trace of visible fat. It came out very nicely. I didn't use the egg method, as I really didn't need clear broth, but that's good to know. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This turned out great and was so easy to do. I used the stock later for a Italian wedding style soup and it was so amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Delicious! Much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
an absolute must when making homemade chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Excellent! I had never made my own stock before, but there was too much meat on my leftover Thanksgiving turkey bones to just throw it away. I finally used my stock pot for something besides bobbing for apples, and the stock was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Worked really well for Turkey gravy and we didn't miss the cloves or egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
my house smells like heaven :)I added some more spices(our taste)and some lemon slices----this is the day after thanksgiving so i am using a turkey carcass---wonderful broth ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Thank you for the recipe. I can now make my own stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
It's a nice basic chicken stock. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is a great starter recipe for chicken stock, although I’m not sure if it’s a true stock, simply because by definition a stock is made from liquid, veggies and bones… the internals of the bones producing a richer texture than broth. In addition, stocks are traditionally cooked longer (several hours). In contrast, a broth is an aromatic liquid made by simmering water with meat and veggies for an hour or so. The process of clarifying the liquid is called building a “raft” and it’s something we had to perfect within the first few weeks at the Culinary Institute. Rafts can be simply eggs, or they can be a combination of eggs and other ingredients. For example, the rafts we made at the CIA included eggs tomato, onion, leek, celery, etc. Not only did it clear the liquid, in addition the ingredients flavored it. The whole theory behind a raft is that denatured proteins (the ingredients in the raft) attract cooked proteins. Once more thing… Once a stock is clarified, it changes names to a consommé. And now you know the rest of the story…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
794 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States