Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this in the "Basic" form. I did add some salt and pepper to the mix and added 4 cubes of chicken bullion as I added a little extra water. I did use the clarifying method mentioned in the recipe and it worked great! After it cooled down I put the stock in zip lock sandwich bags. (2c per bag and froze them laying flat on a cookie sheet. I then put those in a 1 gal. zip lock to keep them together. I didn't get wild on the spices as I don't know what the stock will always be used for. At least this is the way my old brain works!! 8^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It needed some herbs, but that's why it's a BASIC chicken stock--easy to personalize. :) I added some peppercorns, fresh garlic, parsley, basil, thyme, and oregano. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is a good stock and easy. You might want to try throwing all the chicken and veggies in the stock pot and cooking until juices are released from the chicken THEN adding the amount of water you'll need and simmering for a few hours. The broth turns out rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I was just going to use this for the broth but the veggies tasted so good I had to make a soup! I used a chicken carcass, didnt have any cloves but thew in some peppercorn. Cooked for 3 hours. Will never throw out the chicken bones again. This was great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I like this recipe and method very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaTMann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I tripled the recipe and instead of cloves, I used 9 garlic cloves, basically a whole bulb of garlic. I added 9 peppercorns, 2 bay leaves and a bunch of fresh parsley including the stems and doubled the salt. Wow, this was so clever and easy to make. While I was making this I baked some fresh Sweet Potatoes. MMMM *** I will use this recipe all the time*** UPDATE: I used this stock in Mama Mandola's Spicy Chicken Soup that had called for water and wow it made the soup 100% better, (I also added Chili Powder, red pepper flakes and other spices to that recipe)! Again, thank you for posting this easy and yummy stock recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I made this stock to flavor my rice so I didn't add much meat, mostly vegetables. I also added 1/2 tsp. of herbs. I skipped the egg step and just put it through a strainer. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Great recipe. Added 2 lemon leaves (from my tree- or you could use some zest) 2 tsp dried thyme and 1 tsp celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Wardell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Excellent basic stock recipe. I make sure that all fat/skin is removed from the chicken before I put it in the pot, and I usually use a whole fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I stopped making stock years ago because I could never get it clear enough! The egg shell/white step works GREAT and the recipe would get a 5 star for that alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States