Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
delicious.i devided for portions for 2 cups and keep them at the freezer for using anytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Easy to do! I added poultry spice, basil and thyme then simmered for 2 and a half hours. Very yummy and could eat it on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devoncarruthers

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was wonderful. My daughter is allergic to milk and most chicken broth has milk in it. It will be making this often to freeze and store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used chicken carcasses from the Roast Sticky chicken recipe from this site. I tossed in all the veggies listed here and some leeks, as well as some peppercorns. I simmered it for about 1 1/2 - 2 hours. Great basic stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
good, i did use less cloves and added sea salt, fresh sage, basil and thyme, and added a couple cloves of garlic. very good soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I love the instructions on clarifying! Thank you! I also add bay leaf, nix the cloves and add peppercorns. Also, I used the carcass of a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store that we had for supper the night before. Now I feel proud of myself for being so thrifty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This turned out amazing!! I used some frozen chicken carcasses, added bayleaf, garlic, and some peppercorns, simmered for several hours...strained...refrigerated....once cooled..skimmed fat...and froze in ice cube trays (4 full cubes = 1/4 cup {approx}) keep in freezer bag ready to use....soooo much better than store bought!! UPDATE...I have found that roasting the carcass along with the vegetables and onions adds another level of flavor to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this in the "Basic" form. I did add some salt and pepper to the mix and added 4 cubes of chicken bullion as I added a little extra water. I did use the clarifying method mentioned in the recipe and it worked great! After it cooled down I put the stock in zip lock sandwich bags. (2c per bag and froze them laying flat on a cookie sheet. I then put those in a 1 gal. zip lock to keep them together. I didn't get wild on the spices as I don't know what the stock will always be used for. At least this is the way my old brain works!! 8^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It needed some herbs, but that's why it's a BASIC chicken stock--easy to personalize. :) I added some peppercorns, fresh garlic, parsley, basil, thyme, and oregano. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is a good stock and easy. You might want to try throwing all the chicken and veggies in the stock pot and cooking until juices are released from the chicken THEN adding the amount of water you'll need and simmering for a few hours. The broth turns out rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States