Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Terrific as it was. It froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe!!! Love it! Very versatile and a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is a great basic stock and the cloves make a great addition. I did add a bay leaf, a few pepper corns and a few cloves of garlic for some extra flavor. Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is perfect chicken broth! The first time I made this I followed the recipe to the T. But I'm not into cloves so the next time I didn't put any in and it was perfect! I make this every few weeks, without the cloves and use it as a regular staple. And the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
The basics are OK, but I add cloves of garlic just for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this using two large chicken breasts (bone-in, skin on) and without cloves. I had a can of chicken broth so threw that in as well. I did not clarify it either. I took everything out of the pot to boil some noodles then added it all back in. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've been cooking for over 40 years and have never even heard of this wonderful method to clarify stock. It's fast, easy and perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcook
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I make chicken broth every time I cook either a whole or cut up chicken. Just put the giblets in a pot with 4-6 cups of water and add celery, onion, parsley, bayleaf and salt and pepper. If cut up chicken, add the wings and back. simmer 30 min to 1 hour, cool and strain, then freeze in 2 cup portions in zipper bags. It's easy and I never run out of broth. I was glad to see the instructions for clarifying, however my broth usually doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This sounds exactly like my own chicken stock recipe except for the cloves. I use whole allspice. In addition, I add garlic cloves or dried minced garlic for extra flavor and cook it longer to make a nice rich stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickiK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
In honesty, I am not overly impressed with this recipe. I'm sorry. Maybe it's because I doubled it. I believe it was the cloves that ruined it for me. I was looking to try something different then my own way and I'm glad I did :) Thanks for sharing it, but i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States