Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Skipped the celery, added some seasoning based on other reviews, added a little bit of sweet relish - boyfriend loved it. Next time I will use 1/2 miracle whip or mayo with olive oil to lighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
BASIC is JUST what I was looking for. So often I find fun new recipes to try that are a spinoff of a classic...but I decided to stick to the basics here. Using flavorful chicken probably didn't hurt (used homemade roasted chicken). Unfortunately I didn't have almonds, so we chose to use pecans which is fine. I did think it was missing a touch of salt, so I added that but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It doesn't need garlic, dijon, onion, bacon, etc... it's excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Simple, yet awesome. I love chicken salad and have been looking for a great recipe for a while. I didn't have any almonds, so I added a few grapes. The salad was awesome and I can't wait until I get home to eat some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I use this to make lunch for my husband. He really loves the celery! When I'm feeling lazy I used can chicken and it works just fine! I also always add garlic powder and onion powder. Tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Wasn't the absolute best chicken salad I've ever had, but it was good. I'd make it again. It was quick, easy, and got the job done. I always keep some canned chicken in my pantry and that is what I used. It made the salad a little gritty, but as the recipe does not specify to use canned chicken I did not take that into account while rating this recipe. The ingredients are simple and common and make it easy to whip up and take on a picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Such an easy recipe that is so versatile. I use 1/4 cup olive oil mayo instead as well as a little onion powder. The lemon basically eliminates the need for salt. I also try to change up the flavors by adding dried cranberries, raisins or roasted unsalted sunflower seeds. I omit the almonds because the kids don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Perfect! Easy, crunchy, wholesome! I didn't have lemon juice on hand, so I made it without and it was still delicious. Can't wait to try it again with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolann
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great basic recipe! Tasty and open for any add-ons one might want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolann
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Good receipt. I added 1/4 chopped sweet onion,1/2 teaspoon thyme and 3 dashs salad vinegar. I did not have any lemon juice so I did not use it. It went from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curtis Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great basic recipe! I did add chopped pineapple as we were out of grapes and substituted pecans. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States