Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a good, basic chicken salad. I made this as written, but I didn’t have lemon juice, so I subbed the same amount of cider vinegar with good results. I toasted the almonds (350 degrees for 8-10 minute, until fragrant and lightly golden). I liked the almonds, but I may try toasted pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I added 1/4 cup of glazed pecans and dried cranberries, 2 tablespoons of mustard, and 1chopped boiled egg. I also boiled my chicken in broth before I cubed it. Over a fresh croissant, this is one of our favorite lunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Gohman
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My tummy is in love! I poached the chicken breast first -- seasoned with garlic salt, pepper, sea salt, & chicken seasoning -- then chopped it up when done. I mixed in all the ingredients as the recipe instructed. I also chopped up green onions and added it to my mixture. To compliment this delicious chicken salad I spread cranberry sauce on the lightly toasted bread. My tummy and taste buds are beyond satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Gohman
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great basic recipe! A tad on the bland side, however, without further seasoning. I added a bit of curry powder and some sliced scallions, which upped the impact. I'll be going back to this recipe and using some of the variations suggested in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is a standard chicken salad recipe that doesn't fail. I love the crunch of the almonds and celery and use this recipe every time I have leftover chicken. I sometimes lightly toast the almonds for 30 seconds or so to give it a toasted extra flavor. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It is what it says it is...a basic chicken salad. It isn't great, but it is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great for left over chicken. my whole family loves this chicken salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colenbabyk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Licking, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this recipe with 1/4 cup reduced fat mayonnaise and 1/4 cup low fat sour cream. I grilled the almonds in the oven, keeping a close watch on them (a few minutes on a high temp) and replaced the lemon juice with two finely chopped spring onions. I served this with fresh green batavia leaves. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rattlepots

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Tipple

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very good and easy. I used canned chicken. My favorite part was the almonds. I loved the crunch! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States