Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I like the simplicity of this recipe - I do change lemon juice to lime and toast walnuts instead of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I agree that this is an excellent basic chicken salad. I've made it like the recipe, and I've also experimented with it by adding dried cranberries, curry powder, or herbs like thyme. Yep, I love chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I used chopped pecans instead of the almonds and added some sliced seedless grapes...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Add chopped red seedless grapes and it is a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've made this dozens of times except I use half mayo and half sour cream... so much better! I use a little finely chopped green onion, and garlic to taste. Be sure to toast the almonds first so they don't get soggy. Everyone loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I make this often. I add red or green seedless grapes, halved, chopped pecans roasted and salted and chopped Granny Smith apple. You get the sweet, and salty with these additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I've made this a few times and it's become my go-to chicken salad recipe. You can't mess it up and it's addictive. The flavor's best the next day, so make it ahead if you can... but it's good no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
YUM! Great starter!! I used a smoked chicken and added seasonings (celery seed, garlic salt onion powder) to taste, halved the mayo and compensated with sour cream. Cut slices of beget and layered chix salad, broken pieces of fresh basil, slender slice of bacon and a thin slice of roma tomato and covering beget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesus loves You!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Oregon, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added some Poppyseed dressing to the mayo, as I like it a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerri McIntosh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This really is a great basic recipe. I've made it about a dozen times now. My only complaint is the lemon juice... While I don't contest that it is a necessary ingredient, I find 1 Tbsp to be just a bit too much. I've found it best with 2 to 2.5 tsp. I no longer toast the almonds - I like it just as much with raw almonds. I've tried it with walnuts and with pecans instead of the almonds and even used whole unblanched almonds thrown in the food processor for a few seconds. All were good. I've successfully substituted up to 1/3 of the chicken with chopped hard boiled egg with no negative effects. And like others have mentioned, I have found a bit of garlic powder (and sometimes paprika too) to be nice additions, when I remember them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States