Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
YUM! Great starter!! I used a smoked chicken and added seasonings (celery seed, garlic salt onion powder) to taste, halved the mayo and compensated with sour cream. Cut slices of beget and layered chix salad, broken pieces of fresh basil, slender slice of bacon and a thin slice of roma tomato and covering beget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesus loves You!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Oregon, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added some Poppyseed dressing to the mayo, as I like it a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerri McIntosh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This really is a great basic recipe. I've made it about a dozen times now. My only complaint is the lemon juice... While I don't contest that it is a necessary ingredient, I find 1 Tbsp to be just a bit too much. I've found it best with 2 to 2.5 tsp. I no longer toast the almonds - I like it just as much with raw almonds. I've tried it with walnuts and with pecans instead of the almonds and even used whole unblanched almonds thrown in the food processor for a few seconds. All were good. I've successfully substituted up to 1/3 of the chicken with chopped hard boiled egg with no negative effects. And like others have mentioned, I have found a bit of garlic powder (and sometimes paprika too) to be nice additions, when I remember them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is a great base for chicken salad. As is, it was a bit bland for me, thus the four stars. I added more black pepper, diced onion and some celery salt. Afterwards it was five stars! Served on top of sliced radishes for a low carb late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is a great, simple recipe! I added 2 cups of sliced, red seedless grapes which added a nice, natural sweetness. I also added a little salt. Great for a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Way too many almonds. It would be much better with maybe only 2 or 3 tablespoons. Other than that is is a good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have used this recipe several times. Eventually modifying it to meet my family's taste. I start with poached chicken, this allows for a moister meat, and the use of less mayonnaise (actually I add 1/2 cup of chicken, and use the original mayo specificiation. We've also found it too lemony and have eliminated that. If you don't have can't find slivered almond, pecans or walnuts (not toasted, but crushed a bit) are a good substitute. Craisins and dill (fresh is better) add a lot to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Great BASIC recipe to add what you like to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
As written, this recipe is pretty tasteless. I wouldn't serve it as-is. It IS a pretty good base though, as far as achieving a decent chicken salad consistency. You could go several ways with the seasoning in this to make a great chicken salad. I ended up adding onion powder, garlic powder, minced onion, sriracha, cumin, paprika, and a little splenda and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Tastes good a little warm. I want to add Rosemary next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States