Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe! To make it a little more flavorful, I added a few dashes of tabasco sauce and 2 tablespoons of finely chopped red onion. I also added some salt to enhance the flavor. It turned out pretty great! You can also add some buffalo sauce to turn it into buffalo chicken salad. Yum. I love to eat it with wheat bun or wrap it in lettuce ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
im sure this has already been said, but if you cut red grapes in half and toss those puppies in there... ooooo mama. thats what im talkin about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Thank you Jackie! It's perfect as is. I had forgotten how great tasting chicken salad is. Made it last night and like so many salads, it's even better today, Followed directions, exactly. I was temped to add salt, but just added at the table. Delicious. I read all the reviews and everyone "fancying"'it up. Does not need any of that. The only review I took advice was to toast the almonds. I generally prefer nuts that are toasted, so I went with that. I think it would be delicious with them not toasted too. I would not change a thing!!!! When I finish this, I am going to make it again. Maybe I will share next time. :) Maybe! Update... I have made this 4 times! It's incredibly good. I recommend doubling it. You will want more. :) It is great as written, I would not change a thing. Again, thank you for sharing this chicken salad recipe. It's great! Update, update. I made it again! This chicken salad is deliciously addicting! The last two times I made it I bought 2 of the pre-cooked rotisserie chickens sold at grocery stores. We have dinner (usually serve the legs) and the remaining chicken I remove the skin, refrigerate and easily cut enough chicken to double this recipe. Still followed the recipe, no changes. Why mess with perfection? I'm on this sight like it's my job; always trying new recipes. This might be my absolute favorite. Thank you SO much far sharing this,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I loved this! A perfect low carb, gluten free meal! I are the salad in lettuce leaves! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I used dill weed instead of suggested basil or rosemary--was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I switch out the mayo for sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great simple recipe. I added walnuts instead of almonds and a half chopped apple...think it was a Fuji. Will make this again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is my base recipe, and it's fabulous! I've tweaked it a little over time, but it's very good on it's own. I usually end up making a quadruple batch because it's so popular. I also add pecan chips, celery, and grapes for the crunch, and tarragon, and it's everyone's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this with miracle whip light, and on top of the basic recipe I added a little bit of garlic powder, onion powder, less than 1/2 tsp dijon, tbsp dill relish, and used leftover grilled chicken breast. Yum! I love the toasted almonds in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this tonight and it was pretty good. Made a few changes. I used leftover lemon pepper rotisserie chicken from walmart. Not quite a full tbsp of lemon juice because it was already lemony. No almonds but I did put in cut up pieces of half an avocado. Served on fresh baked rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy May Jomama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States