Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This is great chicken salad. It's simple, but with lots of flavor. I make it all the time when it's too hot to cook. I just bake the chicken or boil it in broth, then dice it up. I've made it with a variety of different nuts - pecans, walnuts - and low-fat mayonnaise. It always tastes wonderful! I highly suggest including the lemon juice, it adds a great subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
859 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Good basic. I added fresh pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, a little dijon, and crushed pecans instead of almonds for a richer chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
766 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Exactly what the name implies. Great and simple. I didn't use the almonds because we didn't have any. I did add just a little sprinkle of garlic powder and some sweet pickle relish....it was delicious. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
624 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I love this recipe. So does my whole family. It is a great starter recipe. You can make it as is or you can add or take out the things you like or dislike. I love the slivered almonds in mine. I like to cut up some apples and grapes and serve them on the side. That way everyone can eat it the way they like it. I don't put celery in mine but I do add a finely chopped green onion and some sour cream to the mayo. I use half of the mayo and the other half sour cream. It is great!! Thanks for this recipe!! Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This is a great basic recipe. It was a little bland until I added some extra spices like garlic powder and onion powder, but I guess that's why it's called "basic." This recipe calls for a LOT of almonds, but I love them in chicken salad, so I used them all!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I don't always have the lemon juice on hand, so I omit it. I also toast the almonds in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350 which gives them a lot more flavor. We love onions so I also add a small minced onion to the mix. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Delicious chicken salad! I love the nice hint of lemon flavor. I didn't have almonds on hand. I used 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp. each of salt and pepper. I added a little bit of dijon mustard and dried parsley. I used Hellman's light mayo and let this set in the fridge for an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is exactly what I remember growing up with as a child. Exactly how my mom made it. Delicious! With chicken salad, the simplest recipes are the best. Don't use FF mayo, use light if you absolutely must. Hellman's or Duke's mayo yields the best results. I love Miracle Whip but not in chicken salad. A delicious warm weather meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2000
Quick and easy. I always have cooked chicken cut up and frozen just for this dish. Will use it alot in the summer months. I also like to add a Tablespoon or so of sweet relish to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Alison Carkeek; Cudgewa 14/2/2003 Great recipe 'idea'! thanks. I used cashews instead of almonds. Cut out the celery. Added spring onion, pineapple pieces. Served on salad mix, topped with fresh grapes. Simple 'dinner party' food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States