Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Such an easy recipe that is so versatile. I use 1/4 cup olive oil mayo instead as well as a little onion powder. The lemon basically eliminates the need for salt. I also try to change up the flavors by adding dried cranberries, raisins or roasted unsalted sunflower seeds. I omit the almonds because the kids don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Perfect! Easy, crunchy, wholesome! I didn't have lemon juice on hand, so I made it without and it was still delicious. Can't wait to try it again with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolann
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great basic recipe! Tasty and open for any add-ons one might want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolann
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Good receipt. I added 1/4 chopped sweet onion,1/2 teaspoon thyme and 3 dashs salad vinegar. I did not have any lemon juice so I did not use it. It went from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curtis Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great basic recipe! I did add chopped pineapple as we were out of grapes and substituted pecans. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
So good. I added green apples too and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Every weekend, I prepare my husband meals for the week. So this weekend, I decided to incorporate this recipe. The only thing I didn't do was add the nuts. I must say its one of the best that I have add in a long time and my husband loves it too. Thanks again for sharing. This will be added to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a good, basic chicken salad. I made this as written, but I didn’t have lemon juice, so I subbed the same amount of cider vinegar with good results. I toasted the almonds (350 degrees for 8-10 minute, until fragrant and lightly golden). I liked the almonds, but I may try toasted pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I added 1/4 cup of glazed pecans and dried cranberries, 2 tablespoons of mustard, and 1chopped boiled egg. I also boiled my chicken in broth before I cubed it. Over a fresh croissant, this is one of our favorite lunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Gohman
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My tummy is in love! I poached the chicken breast first -- seasoned with garlic salt, pepper, sea salt, & chicken seasoning -- then chopped it up when done. I mixed in all the ingredients as the recipe instructed. I also chopped up green onions and added it to my mixture. To compliment this delicious chicken salad I spread cranberry sauce on the lightly toasted bread. My tummy and taste buds are beyond satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Gohman
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States