Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Way too many almonds. It would be much better with maybe only 2 or 3 tablespoons. Other than that is is a good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have used this recipe several times. Eventually modifying it to meet my family's taste. I start with poached chicken, this allows for a moister meat, and the use of less mayonnaise (actually I add 1/2 cup of chicken, and use the original mayo specificiation. We've also found it too lemony and have eliminated that. If you don't have can't find slivered almond, pecans or walnuts (not toasted, but crushed a bit) are a good substitute. Craisins and dill (fresh is better) add a lot to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Great BASIC recipe to add what you like to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
As written, this recipe is pretty tasteless. I wouldn't serve it as-is. It IS a pretty good base though, as far as achieving a decent chicken salad consistency. You could go several ways with the seasoning in this to make a great chicken salad. I ended up adding onion powder, garlic powder, minced onion, sriracha, cumin, paprika, and a little splenda and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Tastes good a little warm. I want to add Rosemary next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This was very good-added dill weed too. My opinion, you can not use thighs for ckn salad. They are too greasy, even without skin. The mayo will not adhere to ckn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this loved it! I added it over whole wheat pasta for a salad and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I used seedless red grapes instead of almonds,garlic powder,lemon juice, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Skipped the celery, added some seasoning based on other reviews, added a little bit of sweet relish - boyfriend loved it. Next time I will use 1/2 miracle whip or mayo with olive oil to lighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
BASIC is JUST what I was looking for. So often I find fun new recipes to try that are a spinoff of a classic...but I decided to stick to the basics here. Using flavorful chicken probably didn't hurt (used homemade roasted chicken). Unfortunately I didn't have almonds, so we chose to use pecans which is fine. I did think it was missing a touch of salt, so I added that but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It doesn't need garlic, dijon, onion, bacon, etc... it's excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States