Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
As written, this recipe is pretty tasteless. I wouldn't serve it as-is. It IS a pretty good base though, as far as achieving a decent chicken salad consistency. You could go several ways with the seasoning in this to make a great chicken salad. I ended up adding onion powder, garlic powder, minced onion, sriracha, cumin, paprika, and a little splenda and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Tastes good a little warm. I want to add Rosemary next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This was very good-added dill weed too. My opinion, you can not use thighs for ckn salad. They are too greasy, even without skin. The mayo will not adhere to ckn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this loved it! I added it over whole wheat pasta for a salad and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I used seedless red grapes instead of almonds,garlic powder,lemon juice, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Skipped the celery, added some seasoning based on other reviews, added a little bit of sweet relish - boyfriend loved it. Next time I will use 1/2 miracle whip or mayo with olive oil to lighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
BASIC is JUST what I was looking for. So often I find fun new recipes to try that are a spinoff of a classic...but I decided to stick to the basics here. Using flavorful chicken probably didn't hurt (used homemade roasted chicken). Unfortunately I didn't have almonds, so we chose to use pecans which is fine. I did think it was missing a touch of salt, so I added that but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It doesn't need garlic, dijon, onion, bacon, etc... it's excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Simple, yet awesome. I love chicken salad and have been looking for a great recipe for a while. I didn't have any almonds, so I added a few grapes. The salad was awesome and I can't wait until I get home to eat some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I use this to make lunch for my husband. He really loves the celery! When I'm feeling lazy I used can chicken and it works just fine! I also always add garlic powder and onion powder. Tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Wasn't the absolute best chicken salad I've ever had, but it was good. I'd make it again. It was quick, easy, and got the job done. I always keep some canned chicken in my pantry and that is what I used. It made the salad a little gritty, but as the recipe does not specify to use canned chicken I did not take that into account while rating this recipe. The ingredients are simple and common and make it easy to whip up and take on a picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States