Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made the recipe as is and my family said it was the best chesecake recipe I have made (I unsuccessfully tried many) I plan on making it again this Christmas. Followed the suggestions of leaving in the oven to cool and I did not get cracks in the top. Also did the water bath too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Turned out perfectly! It did puff up a lot, but sank back down when it cooled (I wonder if this is because I let the mixer go too long). I had one minimal crack. Delicious taste and texture. Love the crust too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Good recipe-I didn't care for the spices in the crust-found them distracting when at first I thought what a great idea. I'll stick with a plain crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
A good recipe for a nice basic cheesecake, just as the title suggests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karendevi
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I lowered the temp to 335, had a water bath and left it in the oven till it cooled w/the door slightly ajar- yet it STILL had massive cracks. Any suggestions? I also used lemom extract instead of vanilla for an added taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karendevi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I served this for Thanksgiving along with my pies. I followed all of the tips but it still had 3 HUGE cracks in it. I put a can of cherry pie filling on top and it was gorgeous and everyone loved it. Very creamy and the crust was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe merits more than five stars!! I prepared this cheesecake exactly as written, and it turned out to be the creamiest, tastiest basic cheescake I've ever made. The crust is outstanding as well. The only different thing I did when it came to the crust was to use toasted, finely-chopped pecans instead of walnuts. This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner last evening. Thought I would mention too, that this cheesecake is so delicious, and the top baked up so beautifully...no cracks or blemishes...that I served it plain. As is, this recipe is perfection; thank you so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Wonderful! My first try at cheesecake, and a great success. I followed suggestions to let cool in oven and no cracks. It did puff significantly at the end of baking (but went down while cooling) and turned a little darker brown than I wanted (maybe it baked too long?), so a friend suggested mixing a little sour cream and sugar and spread on top. It was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the easiest and best basic cheesecake I've ever made. I took the other hints and left it in the oven a couple of hours after I turned it off so it wouldn't crack. I got rave reviews on it and will definitely keep this one at the front of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
best cheesecake i have had.5 stars. my family and friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States