Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe is very much like the one I have used for over 20 years. To stop the cake from cracking while cooking, leave cake in oven after turning off the heat, leave oven door ajar. Ten minutes later, run a thin bladed knife around the edge to release the cake from the pan, put back in oven and let cool until oven is cold. Take out of oven and let cake cool completely to room temperature before placing in cooler or fridge. I have used this method for many years professionally and found that it works every time. The main trick is not to overcook the cake, cook only until the centre is "jiggely" not firm. It will firm up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made this for a dinner party, and it turned out perfectly. No cracks-- the secret? Don't put the oven on 350. It's best to bake it at a lower temp. I put it on about 330 or so (and 55 minutes). Also, make sure that you cool it in the oven before you put it in the refridgerator: too soon and it will crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Okay this is for sure a 5 star recipie! A couple things though. If you do not add your own flavoring it can be pretty boring. I added lemon extract, lemon juice and lemon zest. I served it with ras puree. I also left out all the spices for the crust. Another time I made it I used sugar cookies for the crust. That was wonderful! As far as cracks go..LEAVE int he over for a couple hours after you turn the oven off. I never get cracks and I always follow that rule. Also, I had the oven on 340 and only cooked it with the oven on for 30 min. Left it in the oven for another 2 hours. It will continue to cook in the heat just don't open the door! Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Great cheesecake! I am on the Atkins diet, so I have modified this recipe slightly. I use 1 1/2 cups almonds finely ground in the food processor for the crust and replace the sugar with 3 packets of Splenda. I use Atkins bake mix in place of the flour in the filling and use 24 packets of Splenda in place of the sugar. It is great and made that way has very few carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I usually make my own recipe cheesecake, but decided to try this one b/c this sounded really good, and is a 'high' cheesecake. Have yet to taste (still in oven), but smells heavenly. I normally dont use a waterbath, but what I do to avoid cracks is place the springform pan on a very sturdy baking sheet when cooking, and never open the oven door. You can easily watch it from using the light switch, of course. When done, turn off oven and leave it in there for an hour, or leave door open ajar. Always refrigerate cheesecake for at least a day or more for optimum flavor, before serving. Never use 'whipped' cream cheese, always buy the 'block' cream cheese, that should always be softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Being a cheesecake fanatic, I found this recipe made a good cheesecake although not the best I have ever had. The cheesecake filling was rich and extremely heavy (still waiting for it to digest). This recipe was very easy to follow, although it made far too much cheesecake filling so I just made a second cheesecake to use up the extras. To avoid cracking, make sure you do not overbeat your cheesecake mixture, use a water bath whilst baking and bake at a lower temperature. After baking, cool cheesecake in oven with door open, once the oven has cooled down, take cheesecake out to finish off cooling. Once cooled, refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was a good cheesecake. BUT the top browned too much for my liking. I read reviews about it cracking, so I let the cheesecake cool in the oven. Literally, once it was done, we went to a Christmas celebration and I didn't take it out until we got home(2 hours later)- no cracks!! I also didn't over mix the filling. I used our mixer on the lowest setting the entire time. The crust is okay. I agree with another review that stated it's kinda a distraction from tasting the flavor of the cheesecake. Next time I'll use a basic graham cracker crust. I also looked into it browning on the top. I found an article about the baking temp. Apparently cheesecakes should be baked at 250-300 degrees. Next time I will bake it at 300 degrees for about 80-90 minutes. Edit: I just made this for Christmas yesterday. I baked it at 300 degrees for about 80 minutes, and I had NO brown top!! I left if in the oven to cool for 30 minutes, then cracked the door and left it in for another 30 minutes. It was perfect. NO cracks, and I didn't go through the trouble of using a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I have a bakery and am always looking for good recipes. I made 3 of the cheesecakes from this page and had people taste test them, they voted this one 2nd in taste. However, this cheesecake cracked very badly, and since appearance is important, I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
Easy to make and tasted great. I lined the springform pan with foil and then placed pan into a 9 by 13 pan with 2 inches of water at the bottom. There were no cracks when it came out. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKOURINOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was the first time I ever made a cheesecake and this one is out of this world. I only have 1 question. I have made it twice and both times I have cracks going through it. What am I doing wrong. I never see this in a store bought cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States