Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
I found that sifting the flour into the batter helped it blend more evenly. The second timeI doubled up on the vanilla, which resulted in a cake we preferred to the first attempt--if you like the vanilla flavour to be less subtle you may want to do the same. A dense, rich cake that wasn't too sweet. The crust recipe is particularly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
This was my first attempt at making a homemade cheesecake. The recipe was easy to follow and it tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
EXCELLENT! Everyone thought it was store bought! Texture and taste was amazing, cracked a little but easily hidden with fruit pie filling topping. Crust was awesome even though I left out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This cheesecake was excellent; the first one that I had made with sour cream as one of the ingredients. The crust was excellent, too. I omitted the walnuts and added extra graham cracker crumbs. I baked mine in a 9 1/2 inch springform pan for 55 minutes and it turned out perfectly, and, best of all, this recipe produced a cake that didn't crack when set. YAY! My husband had never had a "real" cheesecake, and he said this one was one of the best things--dessert or otherwise--he had ever eaten!! Great recipe!! Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARA K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Yay! First cheesecake I have ever baked that worked. It got rave reviews too. There is a fine line between being done and overdoing where it cracks, but it still tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
Great recipe!!! Wonderful crust and very smooth silky texture. I used 2 Tbs. vanilla, I prefer a bolder vanilla flavor. After baking, I turned off the oven and left the cheesecake in to cool slowly for about an hour and a half. No cracks and it de-paned perfectly... Thanks for this wonderful recipe... It’s a “keeper”! Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
My first "real" good cheesecake. Beats Jello by far :-) I have a family of 5 impatient testers. It didn't cool all the way before it disappeared, I give in easy. We are all stuffed. My wife says I should go to the store and get started on another so it'll be cool for tomarrow. I'm considering a water bath and starting with room temp ingredients. Not for taste or texture but I want a perfect looking cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This was the first cheesecake that I ever made & it turned out pretty ggod. The only reason I say that is because baking the crust the first 10 min, and then again with the cake, it came out very hard & burnt tasting. I think next time I will not bake it for the initial period, just with the cake. But the overall cheese portion was fabulous! Very dense and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I have tried numerous cheesecake recipes that never seem to come out perfectly. This one is as near to perfection as I've found. (At our family gathering, my niece actually said it was better than her mom's! ouch)Smooth, creamy, not too heavy, not too sweet. I'll definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
This cheesecake received rave reviews when I made it. One suggestion would be to cover the cheesecake during the final 1/2 hour of baking to prevent browning. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States