Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My family says "best cheesecake ever" and most of them are cooks too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I had only purchased 3 packages of cream cheese, so that is why I tried this recipe. It was wonderful! I served it for guests, and they loved it too. It is the only cheesecake that I have made that did not crack. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I cook and bake a lot and this is the best basic cheesecake recipie I've ever made.. I didn't change a thing.. With the exception of baking it in a hot water bath.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I had never made a cheesecake before because I always thought it would turn out crumbly and grainy instead of smooth and creamy. This recipe turned out better than expected. However, I cooked it differently. First off I omitted the nutmeg in the crust and cut the cinnamon in half. I baked the crust in a greased spring form pan at 400 for 10 minutes. I added 2 chopped snickers bars (should have done 3) and a half cup of milk chocolate chips to the filling. I turned the oven up to 475 and baked for 20 minutes, after which I turned the oven down to 200 and baked for 90 minutes. I turned off the oven and left the cheesecake in for another hour to cool and prevent cracks- it worked. I ran a thin knife around the edge to loosen the crust and let the cheesecake cool on the counter for another hour and then put it in the fridge. Running the knife along the edge helped before it cooled on the counter because it continued to pull away from the pan on its own. I refrigerated it overnight and cut it the next day. It came away from the pan perfectly and was a luscious, smooth, creamy consistency- not grainy or dry in any way. The flavor is rich and delicious. Will definitely be saving this recipe to make again. Hope these tips help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made the recipe as is and my family said it was the best chesecake recipe I have made (I unsuccessfully tried many) I plan on making it again this Christmas. Followed the suggestions of leaving in the oven to cool and I did not get cracks in the top. Also did the water bath too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Turned out perfectly! It did puff up a lot, but sank back down when it cooled (I wonder if this is because I let the mixer go too long). I had one minimal crack. Delicious taste and texture. Love the crust too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Good recipe-I didn't care for the spices in the crust-found them distracting when at first I thought what a great idea. I'll stick with a plain crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
A good recipe for a nice basic cheesecake, just as the title suggests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karendevi
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I lowered the temp to 335, had a water bath and left it in the oven till it cooled w/the door slightly ajar- yet it STILL had massive cracks. Any suggestions? I also used lemom extract instead of vanilla for an added taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karendevi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I served this for Thanksgiving along with my pies. I followed all of the tips but it still had 3 HUGE cracks in it. I put a can of cherry pie filling on top and it was gorgeous and everyone loved it. Very creamy and the crust was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States