Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious. Topped with the fruit glaze from Betty Crocker, pg. 183. Frozen tart cherries make a great topping for the glaze. Also, start with room temperature cream cheese and other ingredients and follow mixing directions. Do not mix hard as will form bubbles. Grease sides of pan. Bake in hot water bath.....wrap pan in foil, place pan in larger pan (I used the lasagna pan--good size) and pour boiling water into larger pan a couple inches up the side. Baked at 310 for about 75 minutes. Cooled in oven with door ajar for about 45 minutes- - then cool on a rack with inverted pie pan offset on top. Then place in frig to cool for at least 6 hours or overnight before removing springform to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Yummy!!! My daughter's made this for me for Mother's Day dinner and the only downside I can see is that I probably gained ten lbs since I ate about half of this by myself! They made the topping from Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake from this site. But if you make the topping don't process in blender and double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I did it exactly as the recipe said and it had no flavor. It didn't tasted bad but it wasn't good either. the temperature was too high to cook it for so long so the top came out all black and I had to scratch it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Well Ladies and Gents, I made this recipe a few hours ago and I did a couple things to test a few ideas. I made my cheesecake with a ginger snap cookie crust, I increased the amount of filling made to test two different cooking methods. I used the turkey bag and water bath for my 10 inch and foil around the pan and no bath for the 8 inch. The 8 did experience cracking but the 10 didn't. I cooked both in a regular gas oven racks adjusted accordingly at 300 degrees, I also let the 10 cook for 90 min and the 8 for 60 min. Both cooled in the oven for 1 hour heat off door open. I will now put in the freezer for a couple hours for remainder of cooling time. I'm sure the flavor is superb, but the methods for cooking have given good insight. Thanks to all for your tips and comments. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I love this and so does my entire family. I love how it is lighter then normal cheesecake... or at least thats how mine comes out. It is a foolproof recipe for novice bakers. I have made three of these within a week. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I couldn't find my true and trusted cheesecake recipe so went searching for another. I came across this recipe and decided to try it. With some slight changes I made this cheesecake and it was amazing! My son who loves cheesecake (it was for his birthday) and has eaten many in his life said it was the best one he's ever tasted. And other members of the family who don't even like cheesecake, loved it. I did not use any walnuts. For the filling I used non-fat sour cream and low fat cream cheese. I put a cherry topping on top and I made 1 1/2 times the crust (we love crust!). I put the cheesecake in a waterbath and after it was done in the oven, I let it sit for about 45 minutes before opening the door. There were no cracks in the cheesecake. This cheesecake was unbelievably good. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Awesome! So easy to make, my family loved it for Christmas dessert. I used pecans instead of walnuts and baked it in a water bath, cooled it in the oven, and it did not crack. This will now be the only cheese cake I will bake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for dessert at our Christmas Eve dinner. It was really good. I did get a split in the top but I didn't have a springform pan to bake it in. I had purchased some cherry pie filling for on top but this was so rich and delicious that no one used it. I will make this again for sure after I purchase myself the proper pan so it looks as great as it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The recipe worked out spectacularly! Since I just wanted to try out if I could do the recipe properly, I had the servings set to 6 servings. Also, instead of using vanilla extract, I used almond extract. Since almond extract is a tad strong, I only used 1/4 tsp. I also upped the sugar a bit. Otherwise, this recipe is the perfect base to work with and then add your own little touches to it! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was a good cheesecake. BUT the top browned too much for my liking. I read reviews about it cracking, so I let the cheesecake cool in the oven. Literally, once it was done, we went to a Christmas celebration and I didn't take it out until we got home(2 hours later)- no cracks!! I also didn't over mix the filling. I used our mixer on the lowest setting the entire time. The crust is okay. I agree with another review that stated it's kinda a distraction from tasting the flavor of the cheesecake. Next time I'll use a basic graham cracker crust. I also looked into it browning on the top. I found an article about the baking temp. Apparently cheesecakes should be baked at 250-300 degrees. Next time I will bake it at 300 degrees for about 80-90 minutes. Edit: I just made this for Christmas yesterday. I baked it at 300 degrees for about 80 minutes, and I had NO brown top!! I left if in the oven to cool for 30 minutes, then cracked the door and left it in for another 30 minutes. It was perfect. NO cracks, and I didn't go through the trouble of using a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States