Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is such a great basic recipe to begin so many different cheesecakes. I've used pistachio, chili powder, ginger for crust, raspberry extract, and a raspberry, blackberry, blueberry mix stirred into mix prior to baking. I also substitute a tub of marscapone for one of the cream cheese and I use Neufchâtel instead of cream cheese. It turns out so good. Sometimes I add pistaschio curd for a topping. Just depends who I'm baking it for. Key lime, raspberry, lemon, blueberry, cherry.... The variations are endless with this perfect basic starter. I also use a water bath, allow it to rest in oven for two hours after baking 60-80 minutes at 340 degrees, cool on counter and chill at least overnight. Baking time depends on how many ingredients are in the cake. Some add on's make for a longer baking time due to moisture content. I'm thinking of using that hot raspberry jelly on my next one. With chili powder in the crust. Pop!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The filling of the recipe is the best ever. Creamy and still plenty of cream cheese flavor! It's my new favorite! I used two large store bought graham cracker crusts for the one batch of filling. Perfect. 335 degree oven for about 45 minutes. Cooled in oven and then fridge. Yummmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appelorchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe and received many compliments for the taste. I did follow a simple graham cracker crust since I did not want the nuts or spices in it. It did crack but it was easily covered with a cherry topping. I will definitely use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is okay, but I still like Chantal's recipe, from this site, better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I served this cheesecake for an occasion where it was very important to me that it turned out right. I studied quite a few recipes before deciding on this one, which I chose because of the additions, significant ones at that, of both heavy cream and sour cream. I’m not a big fan of heavy, dense, dry cheesecakes and the smooth and creamy texture I anticipated was exactly what this delivered. Because a basic cheesecake with a fresh raspberry sauce was what I planned, I used a standard chocolate wafer crust rather than the spiced up version directed in the recipe. This cheesecake couldn’t have done me more proud. I baked it in a water bath and even tho’ it appears condensation caused some water seepage, I don’t know how a cheesecake could have turned out any better. I admit I was a little nervous about the rather large amounts of sour cream and heavy cream, but after making, serving and eating this cheesecake myself I’m convinced it IS the large amounts of sour cream and heavy cream that made this cheesecake such a hit, so extraordinarily delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Best cheesecake ever!! I have tried a lot of recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxi
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I just made the cheesecake part as we don't like graham cracker crusts so I used the crust from New York Cheesecake III. I only used 1/2 cup of cream as the batter was very liquidy. I did not use a water bath when baking, after 60 minutes it was still jiggly, I turned off the oven and let the cheesecake sit for another 60 minutes in the oven, then I chilled overnight in the fridge. No cracks and the texture was perfect, served with homemade cherry pie filling and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This is the first cheesecake I've ever made, but I bake often. The flavor was spot on delicious! I absolutely loved the crust which kind of reminded me of Christmas, but was still light enough for the summer. I don't like walnuts so I used slivered almonds that I ground up in the food processor. The cheesecake has a lighter flavor than what I'm used to, but that's what I like about it. The only problem that I had was the HUGE split down the middle and it bubbled up and hardened around the edge of the pan. Also the cream cheese mixture darkened and hardened around the edges. I'm guessing this is because I mixed it too long...that's the only thing I can think of. Also, I pulled it out of the oven after 45 minutes. My oven usually cooks fast, but not that fast. I think the splitting and rising are my fault so I still give this 4 stars and will definitely keep using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Definitely recommend a water bath as mine collapsed in the middle, but other than that, this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
A very easy recipe to follow and is a hit with my family. I used pecans instead of walnuts for the crust without nutmeg. The only problem that I have had is keeping it from cracking in the oven and I have followed the advice of others of letting it stay in the oven until the oven is cool. Wonder if water bath would help with this isue ? Other then that the flavor is wonderful and has been added to my recipe collection for futur use. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States