Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good cheesecake. Followed recipe except that I omitted nuts from the crust. I also at the suggestion of others left the cheesecake to cool in the oven with the door slightly ajar for about two hours to avoid cracks. It worked well, no cracks but the top was a little well done. I wanted to serve a plain cheesecake and offer my guests different topping but it was just too brown so I used a can of strawberry filling on top. Looked very nice and tasted very good. I would definitely make again just need to figure out how to get it not to brown so much on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I absolutely love this cheesecake recipe. I make a few small changes; I increase the crust by half because in love a thick crust, adjusting all other crust ingredients accordingly. I leave out the walnuts. For the cheesecake filling, my on,y addition is switching out 1/4 cup of the white sugar for light brown sugar. It's delicious! I use a water bath and bake at 310, rotating once, eyeballing for doneness (about an hour). I get compliments on it everywhere I take one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaanananaaa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this as a birthday cake. One huge crack in the middle. Wasted my time and supplies. I followed this recipe completely letting it cool in oven. I should have used the recipe on the Philadelphia Cream Cheese package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed the recipie and it turned out just like the picture. People have the impression that I am a great cook, but in reality this website has taught me many things through great recipes such as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
i added about 4 tblsp of fresh lemon juice and about 1 and 1/2 lemons worth of zest. i also added 1 additional tblsp of flour to make up for the extra juice. it gave it a really nice lemon zing! i plan to top it with blueberry compote with a tiny touch of fresh basil. it DID crack but im sure the flavor is spot on so oh well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by el grande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I have made this twice and both times splitsville I don't know what I'm doing wrong I followed the directions to the t :( love the taste it was good good split really bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Just as the name implies, its your basic cheesecake. Not as heavy as what Ive made in the past which was nice but also not as rich. It satisfied my craving and will be nice with additional toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I used another crust for this - but my family and our company thought this was truly the best cheesecake they had ever experienced on the planet. Prepared it virtually exactly as described and it came out w/o cracks, looking flawless. Water bath and sitting in oven for two hours is crucial. Let it sit overnight in frig. Taste is rich w/o being heavy. It may not be low-calorie - but it is a real treat. I fixed two easy sauces: raspberry and strawberry. But it was best all by itself. The Cheesecake Factory has nothing on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was great. I got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Easy to make and came out perfect. Perfectly browned on top and it didn't crack. Delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States