Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
What a great cheesecake. Baked wonderfully. The crust is a little spicy, so if you're not crazy for that kind of thing I suggest cutting the spices in half. I did find it took away from the true cheesecake flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
Excellent cheesecake! And to think, it was the first time I had ever cooked ANYTHING! I now have people thinking I'm the next Betty Crocker! Thanks! - cheesecake was extremely good, the only problem is that after letting it cool off a while in the oven as suggested it still cracked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Very Good recipe for cheesecake, but the crust was too strongly flavored for my taste. Will make again with my own crust. Also cooking time was too long, overly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was only my second attempt at ever making a cheesecake, but the first time following this recipe. It turned out really good! It did crack, even though I tried to follow the advice of other reviewers, but it wasn't visible once I put a topping over it. It was even still very rich even though I substituted 2 of 3 packages of real cream cheese with the fat free ones. I also substituted an oreo crust for the graham cracker crust and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Great cheesecake. best I've ever had. I made it with a standard 9 inch gram cracker crust and used fresh strawberries cooked with sugar as topping. sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
When using a pie dish this makes enough for two, so be ready with an extra baked crust. My husband loves cheesecake and usually eats the whole in a sitting. I thought this was pretty good, but it has been two days and he has only eaten two slices???? The cheesecake or my cooking - it could go either way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Excellent cheesecake, although I haven't been successful at making it without a crack. I've tried lowering the temperature in the last 15 to 20 minutes and it helped but didn't fix the problem. Great with Brandied Cranberry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Great cheesecake! I am on the Atkins diet, so I have modified this recipe slightly. I use 1 1/2 cups almonds finely ground in the food processor for the crust and replace the sugar with 3 packets of Splenda. I use Atkins bake mix in place of the flour in the filling and use 24 packets of Splenda in place of the sugar. It is great and made that way has very few carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake in a springform pan. Usually, I just make a cheesecake "pie" in a pie pan. This was yummy! I followed the tips but it still cracked. I'll keep trying, and maybe I'll get one that doesn't crack someday. Either way, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
The crust had way too much nutmeg and the filling was okay, nothing special. Still on the hunt for a better tasting cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States