Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe is very much like the one I have used for over 20 years. To stop the cake from cracking while cooking, leave cake in oven after turning off the heat, leave oven door ajar. Ten minutes later, run a thin bladed knife around the edge to release the cake from the pan, put back in oven and let cool until oven is cold. Take out of oven and let cake cool completely to room temperature before placing in cooler or fridge. I have used this method for many years professionally and found that it works every time. The main trick is not to overcook the cake, cook only until the centre is "jiggely" not firm. It will firm up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is a great cheesecake. Every single time I make it, people rave on about it for days. It's also very easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made this for a dinner party, and it turned out perfectly. No cracks-- the secret? Don't put the oven on 350. It's best to bake it at a lower temp. I put it on about 330 or so (and 55 minutes). Also, make sure that you cool it in the oven before you put it in the refridgerator: too soon and it will crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
CHEESECAKE ATTEMPT #1. Result: Pretty good for a first attempt! Would recommend inexperienced cheesecake makers to check out the tips on this site. Used water bath so no cracks! Next time will bake crust for 10mins as stated b/c didnt the first time and crust was a little underbaked. Also cut down cream cheese to 2 pkgs and 2 eggs. Works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This was a pretty good cheesecake but I'll still be searching for the perfect cheesecake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I've tried to make this cake twice, and both times it collapsed. It tasted good, though, and I'll be keeping the recipe for the crust even if I am throwing away the recipe for the actual cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
To NLW: "I have made it twice and both times I have cracks going through it. What am I doing wrong. I never see this in a store bought cheesecake." You're overbeating your mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was the first time I ever made a cheesecake and this one is out of this world. I only have 1 question. I have made it twice and both times I have cracks going through it. What am I doing wrong. I never see this in a store bought cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I absolutely love cheesecake and this is a great recipe--The name is deceiving, it underplays how fantastic this cheesecake is, and the CRUST is the best I've ever had--almost better than the cheesecake itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This is an awesome cheesecake. Everyone in my office loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States