Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I made this cheesecake for a bridal shower and it won rave reviews. It's the first time I made a cheesecake in a springform pan and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This is the best cheesecake recipe ever invented. THIS is real NY cheesecake, not that fluffy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Super creamy texture and very rich. I made a few adjustments.I used store bought sugar cookies for the crust because my daughter doesn't like graham cracker crust. I also added about 1/4 cup more sugar and half again as much vanilla as the recipe called for, but that's just because I like a pronounced vanilla flavor and a sweet cheesecake and I wanted to offset the tartness of the sour cream. I you like your cheesecake mildly sweet then I wouldn't add the extra sugar. The whole family loved this one. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This is the best cheesecake I have ever made. The texture was perfect- very dense, not mushy. I added almond extract instead of vanilla, gave it a slight amaretto taste. I followed PAMSCAKES tips for not cracking and it worked! The cake looked as good as it tasted. Also, I used a plain graham cracker crust, just sounded better than all those spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Yum. Very creamy. And everyone loved the crust! I don't like walnuts, so I used pecans instead. And also cut back a little on the spices (as suggested by other reviewers). I cut back a bit on the flour too. And I used the water bath...no cracks. After 1 hour, I turned off the oven, and left the cake in there for a few hours, before puttting in the fridge. I just saw a cooking show with a great tip on cutting a cheesecake...run a thin knife under hot water, wipe off, and when you cut, don't come back up, pull the knife out the side, no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This cheesecake is wonderful! I made it for a dinner party and got lots of requests for the recipe. It is a little firmer than I prefer, so next time I'll cut the amount of flour. It has a very good flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalona, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oxford, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Thank you for a great recipe. I baked it in a heart shaped springform pan, used a water bath and left it in the oven for several hours after baking, but it still had a large crack. I think next time I will turn the heat down to 325 and see if that makes a difference. I don't mind a crack or two, but if someone is looking for a "perfect presentation", it might be better to try another recipe. I made this last night as a surprise for my husband. Cheesecake is his favorite dessert. He prefers a dense, heavy cheesecake and pronounced this one "perfect". I opted to make a plain graham cracker crust. (the crust recipe did not sound like something my hubby would care for.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This was soooo good. My first time making a cheesecake, and I will make this one over and over again. My family loved it too. Great taste and texture...so smooth. Didn't like the crust, too strong of a taste...next time will use less cinnamon and no nutmeg. Also..only one tiny crack. Simply the BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
This cheesecake is absolutely delicious! Since I have a cholesterol problem and my husband is a diabetic, I substituted 1/3 less fat cream cheese, lite sour cream, and evaporated skim milk for the full fat ingredients; I used splenda in- stead of sugar. It still turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States