Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This cheesecake was very good. I added more sugar though. I wish I had read pamscakes review before I made this cake because it cracked so much, but overall it was delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This is a really lovely cheesecake! I made a couple changes though. Instead of sour cream I used plain greek yogurt, to which I added a bit more than was called for, and a little less cream. The only thing I didn't like was that it tasted ever so slighty "eggy". I think I'll only use two eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This is a cery good cheesecake recipe! I did make some changes though. I used a traditional graham cracker crust instead of the spiced one. Keep an eye on the cooking time, as the one in the recipe was about 15 minutes long for my oven. Also, I follwed PAMSCAKES suggestions and found it still cracked badly. I just made some streusel topping, popped it under the broiler for 2-3 minutes and it looked great! I served it with fresh strawberries and a blueberry sauce and it was the hit of the Labor Day picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This cheesecake is absolutely heavenly! The only thing that I changed was I removed the walnuts and reduced the amount of nutmeg in the crust. I took this to work and all of my co-workers asked for the recipe. Thank you so much for putting this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I made this cheesecake for a bridal shower and it won rave reviews. It's the first time I made a cheesecake in a springform pan and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This is the best cheesecake recipe ever invented. THIS is real NY cheesecake, not that fluffy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Super creamy texture and very rich. I made a few adjustments.I used store bought sugar cookies for the crust because my daughter doesn't like graham cracker crust. I also added about 1/4 cup more sugar and half again as much vanilla as the recipe called for, but that's just because I like a pronounced vanilla flavor and a sweet cheesecake and I wanted to offset the tartness of the sour cream. I you like your cheesecake mildly sweet then I wouldn't add the extra sugar. The whole family loved this one. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This is the best cheesecake I have ever made. The texture was perfect- very dense, not mushy. I added almond extract instead of vanilla, gave it a slight amaretto taste. I followed PAMSCAKES tips for not cracking and it worked! The cake looked as good as it tasted. Also, I used a plain graham cracker crust, just sounded better than all those spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Yum. Very creamy. And everyone loved the crust! I don't like walnuts, so I used pecans instead. And also cut back a little on the spices (as suggested by other reviewers). I cut back a bit on the flour too. And I used the water bath...no cracks. After 1 hour, I turned off the oven, and left the cake in there for a few hours, before puttting in the fridge. I just saw a cooking show with a great tip on cutting a cheesecake...run a thin knife under hot water, wipe off, and when you cut, don't come back up, pull the knife out the side, no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States