Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This recipe is great!!! My family and I enjoyed it. It cracked but that didn't matter. Next time I will try lowering the heat to prevent the cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Strykewulf
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was exactly what I was looking for, I stirred in about 3/4 of a bag of the Andes candy pieces, and garnished it with the Easy Whipped Cream recipe from this site and the rest of the mints. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Strykewulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Very good I loved the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This cheesecake is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This cheesecake would be the love of my life if I hadn't met my husband! It is so easy, and the perfect consistency- firm, as a cheesecake should be! Do NOT, I repeat, do not skip the crust and use a store-bought one. The crust is half the reason this cheesecake is so heavenly! The hot water bath is good if you're trying to impress someone, but it still tastes just as good if it is cracked, so it is a skippable step. If you're looking to make it lower in fat, use fat free everything except use the Neufachatel cheese, found in the cream cheese section. It still turns out firm with the same flavor, but slightly lighter. I usually like the lower fat texture a little better. The lower fat version is still firm, not mushy jello-pudding consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelsTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
loved it. nice dense texture and not overly sweet. perfect amount of crust. love the cinnamon in the crust; i left out the nutmeg. i used the advice of leaving the cheesecake in the oven to prevent cracking, but it still cracked some. however, i don't care at all about that. it was a nice golden brown on top, it looked great that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This crust is the best - the only cheesecake recipe I ever use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This just didn't workout for me. It cracked horribly, burnt on the top, and the crust was good, but not great. I probally did something wrong, but I'm not sure I'll be making this again. The cheesecake itself however tasted very good. Had a bit of a bite to it, due to the sour cream I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This a simple recipe to follow and the walnuts make the cheesecake different from the traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
My co-workers agreed this was the best cheesecake they'd ever had in their lives! I used all graham crackers (no nuts in the house - haha!) and used the full Tablespoon of cinnamon in the crust, and people commented on how much they liked the cinnamon. I did not use a water bath, but instead tried reviewer Natalie's method (9/12/05) of simply placing the cheesecake on a sturdy cookie sheet. I baked it @ 325 (my oven runs hot) for 50 minutes, turned oven off (not opening oven door), and let it sit in the closed oven for about 20 minutes more. Then I let the cake cool for a couple hours or so in the oven with door ajar. I was happy to see NO CRACKS! Yay! Decorated the top with creme chantilly (sweetened whipped cream) and fresh blueberries with melted wild blueberry preserves drizzled atop. Very beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States