Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This just didn't workout for me. It cracked horribly, burnt on the top, and the crust was good, but not great. I probally did something wrong, but I'm not sure I'll be making this again. The cheesecake itself however tasted very good. Had a bit of a bite to it, due to the sour cream I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This a simple recipe to follow and the walnuts make the cheesecake different from the traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
My co-workers agreed this was the best cheesecake they'd ever had in their lives! I used all graham crackers (no nuts in the house - haha!) and used the full Tablespoon of cinnamon in the crust, and people commented on how much they liked the cinnamon. I did not use a water bath, but instead tried reviewer Natalie's method (9/12/05) of simply placing the cheesecake on a sturdy cookie sheet. I baked it @ 325 (my oven runs hot) for 50 minutes, turned oven off (not opening oven door), and let it sit in the closed oven for about 20 minutes more. Then I let the cake cool for a couple hours or so in the oven with door ajar. I was happy to see NO CRACKS! Yay! Decorated the top with creme chantilly (sweetened whipped cream) and fresh blueberries with melted wild blueberry preserves drizzled atop. Very beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Really good cheesecake!!! Make sure you use a water bath, I had no trouble with cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
The flavors of this cheesecake are delicious. The crust is heavenly and the cheesy part is just perfect. I made one and a half times the crust. This was my first time making cheesecake and from reading articles on this website and re-reading some reviews, I have identified two mistakes I made: 1. I tried to make this in my regular 9" pan. I used parchment paper so it would be easy to take out (and it was), but it turned out not to be deep enough for all of the batter. Beware if you also try to do this! 2. I did not bake it in a water bath. The top of my cheesecake was cracked - this didn't bother me much (after all, it was still delicious) but it definitely would have looked nicer without the cracks. I recommend reading these two articles if you are baking a cheesecake for the first time: http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Perfect-Cheesecakes/Detail.aspx and http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Baking-Cheesecake-Step-by-Step/Detail.aspx. Good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Absolutely delicious! The best cheesecake I have ever made. I would put it above Chantal's NY cheesecake. I love the addition of the sour cream and especially the heavy cream. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
my son had a craving for cheesecake & this recipe definately fit the bill. i only made slight changes like using 1 1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs with an extra tablespoon butter for more crust, using half & half instead of heavy cream & baking the cheesecake with a waterbath. i also watched the informative allrecipes video on cheesecake making before hand & learned a few things! many thanks ronald!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Excellent recipe. Creamy texture, great taste! Definitely cook in water bath you will not be disappointed. I too used a graham cracker crust instead of a dusting. But I think this cheescake would be great with either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is only the second cheesecake I've ever made, and I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! I did the water bath by wrapping the bottom of the springform pan with two layers of foil and setting inside a cookie sheet with sides. After putting into the oven I carefully poured hot water into the cookie pan. I did end up baking the crust for only 6 min. and the cheesecake for 50 min. because my oven seems to bake super fast. After it was done baking, I turned off the oven and left the cheesecake in there with the door cracked open for about 3 or 4 hours, and then I cooled it the rest of the way on the counter before putting it into the fridge over night. I had no cracks and it came out of the pan perfectly. I served it with cherry pie filling on the top. Sooooo good! It's a very light kind of cheesecake. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
An outstanding traditional cheesecake recipe. I doubled the crust recipe and layered the bottom only. Also, I highly recommend using a water bath. If your not sure whether or not your springform pan is water tight you can take an oven bag, trim it leaving around 6 inches at the bottom, then place the pan inside. Or you can go buy a high dollar pan ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States