Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Delicious!! My first time making polenta, and my family and I thought this was very, very good. It's so quick and easy to make. I chilled it in a 9x13 pyrex, and used a glass to cut circles. I fried them, and was eating them straight out of the pan, before they even got a chance to be used in my recipe! My only recommendation, to make this 5 stars: Leave out the salt!! With the parmesan cheese added, this polenta is plenty salty enough already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
this was just how my grandma made it but without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
added diced jalapeno to it! awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Yum! After chilling, I sliced the polenta loaf into finger-sized pieces and pan-fried them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! I have only had polenta one at my American friends place, the creamy kind. I just tasted this straight off the stove top and it is delicious. It is now cooling and I can't wait to try it fried in some olive oil like everyone else seems to be suggesting! Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I liked this best straight from the stove. I did let it sit up and then sliced it and tried to fry it in some olive oil, but it did not get crispy like I thought it might. I ended up wishing I had just served it directly from the pot. Add a little garlic powder too. Very easy recipe and fairly quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I added in roasted red bell peppers, about a 1/4 cup.....yummy......makes a great start for anything calling for polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
After I started making this recipe, I realized I didn't have any cheese...so I made it without it. It still turned out very tasty! I stirred in about 1/4 up fresh corn kernels and poured into a cake pan so that it would have a shape. After it had set, I cut it into pieces and fried in evoo, topped with homemade tomato sauce - DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is a great basic polenta recipe..my favorite thing about it is the idea of mixing the polenta in the cold water first then adding to the boiling water. This saves having to 'sprinkle' the polenta into the boiling water (like every other polenta recipe I've seen) and worry about lumping! For that alone I'd like to thank the person who submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Cut the recipe in half using 3/4 c. water and the rest half/half with fine white cornmeal. Mixed well using cold ingredients and constant whisking; added the cheese, butter, and a small package of cream cheese at the end. Used a small amount of salt initially and later some garlic powder. The mixture went into an 8" metal loaf pan for 4-5 hours. Jelled well - sliced into 'fingers' and fried in olive oil. Everyone enjoyed this as an alternative to potatoes. Served with a pork loin, cabbage slaw, and an assortment of seedless grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States