Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was so good and super easy. I ate a whole slice cold waiting for the others to fry. Left out the salt completely and used white cornmeal. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Just YUM! Added to 2 cups boiling water, not 3 as I like mine firm. Easy and fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. I added the following: some Bob Evans pre-cooked sausage, some sauteed mushrooms, and some dried basil. I cooked it in a good non stick deep sided skillet, about 25 minutes. Turned it into a greased loaf pan and chilled. Later, I sliced it and pan fried the slices in oil til crispy on the outside. Make sure to get crispy. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Really quite good...And So many possibilities for variations with different cheeses. Very easy too. I sliced mine into 3/4 inch slices then cut them in half. then I dredged them in seasoned flour and fried the pieces in butter till golden brown....Served it under Pork chops Italiano.......Fantastic! Will definitely pass this one along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Epic Fail on my part. I decided to grill these because I was grilling already and I didn't want to use the stove. Needless to say, the polentas fell apart. I've never had them or seen them before so I had no idea what I was getting myself into. The taste and texture were great. I really liked the grilled outside of the 1 polenta that mostly survived. Next time I'll have to pan-fry or deep-fry these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
The whole family enjoyed this! My 14 month old daughter kept asking for more and my husband loved the addition of the parmesan cheese. I refrigerated overnight, sliced into thin strips and baked for 35 min at 400F, turning with 15 minutes to go. Once baked, I served with meatballs and a thin marinara sauce. Next time I will reduce the amount of cheese, to tone down the saltiness of the dish as well as save some money, and add some black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I felt that my polenta was a little too salty due to the cheese. Easily averted by omitting the additional salt. I'd just like to give my experience with attempting to fry the polenta. I'd never done it, so my first batch I tried in my fake French cast-iron skillet. They stuck, and left me with a horrible mush of fried skin and greasy polenta. The trick is to use a non-stick pan. Cover the bottom with 1/4 inch of oil. Heat the oil to medium-high, but make sure that it's HOT before you slide the polenta pieces into the pan. Let them cook until you can see the sides of the pieces browning. Lift with a spatula - if it sticks, leave it for a moment or two longer. Flip, allow to brown, and presto! Tasty fried polenta that is crisp on the outside and creamy delicious on the inside! Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used a little bit less cheese, added fresh basil, pepper, sundried tomatoes & used it for the italian summer squash bake. I'm not sure I would make this as written without some added spice- I don't approve of anything that doesn't have a lot of flavor. With add-ins this recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good and easy ! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
VERY YUMMY! Either hot or cold then sliced and fried. I used 1 cup milk to soak instead of water, then used 1 cup milk and two cups water to boil. Added 2 T butter with the cheese. It was super creamy and good. Very comfort foody! This is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Harris Nystrom
Home Town: Morrow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States