Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Substitute cream or milk or chicken broth for the water makes a much tastier Polenta. Does anyone know if you can freeze Polenta? I made so much and didn't want to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Loved this. I used it as a noodle substitute in lasagna, and it was wonderful! It's also great with all manners of red sauces over it - a great substitute for the normal starches. You can also use it as a basic recipe and add a variety of items to it. This is classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this without the cheese and with 2 1/2 cups of water. It was fantastic. Thanks for sharing! Update: I like to drop spoonfuls of this polenta into minestrone soup before serving (instead of adding pasta), similar to dumplings - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I decided to make it instead of buying simply because it's cheaper and so easy. Turned out great. I used it in Ratatouille Polenta Bake from this site as well. It was so yummy and all my co-workers were inquiring about the delicious smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie Hyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very easy. I used it for the pesto polenta dish and, the next morning, slice the leftover into bricks and pan fried in a little butter until nicely browned on each side. Served with bacon and a little maple syrup. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Perfect polenta recipe! I made it without the cheese and used the recipe in a sort of Polenta Parmesan. Also, I found that I only had to refrigerate it until it was cold throughout (so, about an hour on a sheet pan, spread thin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very tasty and makes the house smell WAY good when fried. Good with a little warm spaghetti sauce or pizza sauce on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
They tasted very good and were easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very easy to make and we all liked it! Never have ahd polenta before so might try it with a different cheese next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was a first for us and it was a hit! I made it as written and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States