Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
We really enjoyed this. My husband is Italian, and grew up eating polenta (the real stuff, not the stuff you find in a tube at the grocery store). It's hard to find the dry polenta near us, but this is just as good. We will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Wow! Made this for the first time and it was awesome! I topped it with a fried egg, mushroom gravy, and some cheese. My husband and I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I thought this might be a little bit bland as written, so I added a clove of minced garlic and some dried oregano and thyme. It turned out very delicious with those additions. Be careful when simmering the mixture, as the polenta easily bubbles up and can explode onto your stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I liked this but my family didn't like the texture. Husband said it was like oatmeal. I did refrigerate the leftovers and will try frying it up later. Good directions and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was amazing! I never made polenta before and this was so easy and delicious! I used Locatelli Pecorino Romano cheese instead of Parmesan, for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sundae7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Wow! This was so easy, and delicious! I might actually reduce the parmesan cheese to 1/2c or 3/4c next time. We enjoy polenta, and I never realized how easy it was to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
First time making or eating polenta. Turned out great! Used a cheddar blend cheese instead of parmesan. Placed in freezer for about 2 hours then sliced and fried in EVOO sprinkled with pizza salt. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
So easy! I always wanted to learn how to make this, and now I don't have to pay literally 10 times as much for store-bought. I used white cornmeal and skipped the cheese for plain polenta and that worked well. Great all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erialove
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is an easy polenta recipe. Instead of 1 cup, I added just 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese and an additional of 1/2 cup sour cream. I put the mixture in a pan and sprinkled some grated sharp cheddar cheese and baked for 20 minutes. It turned out so good. My hubby likes it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erialove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I just made these for V-Day! Came out awesome! I chilled in a flat pyrex dish and then used a heart shape cookie cutter for my pieces! Fried in some EVOO! Was a hit. I also sprinkled in some cheddar cheese! Will so make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States