Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I must admit, polenta is not my favorite but my husband is Romanian (where polenta is a staple meal) and so I make it for him. I made this recipe exactly as stated and it was too salty. He likes his food pretty salty but even he stated that it is a lttle oversalted. He ate it and liked it none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Very good result. I added some garlic and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Added basil & garlic powder otherwise made as written. We did also eat it right away. Thought I would save some for later to saute, but there isn't much left. Surprisingly tasty recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a great starter. Makes a perfect polenta every time. I used less parm, but that is just my taste. Really need to stir the polenta, the more stirring, the creamier it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Very good and easy. I added Classico Sun Dried Tomatoes & sauteed garlic to mine. I read reviews AFTER I made mine, but will next time cut back on the water to 2/3 cup because I also like mine more firm. It was delicious though! And the best part is: each serving has only 4 Weight Watchers points! I've been craving polenta, so I'm thankful it fits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This wasn't my favorite. We tried it both fried and baked. The baked was better in our opinion. The flavor reminds my son of cheesy tator tots. I can't say we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I thought this was great. I only had to simmer this for about 10 minutes. It thickened up really fast. This would be good creamy or pan-fried. Will definitely make again...I might try with brown sugar and cinnamon instead of parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I added dried rosemary, and substitued half of the Parmesan with Asiago which cut down on the "too salty" dilema others were talking about. I did fry mine in olive oil, but may try the baking method next time to cut calories. I also am going to cut down on some of the water so it holds together better for frying or baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was the first time I tried anything with polenta and probably shouldn't have tried making it from scatch. Fortunately it turned out great, however I didn't use the parm. I used cheddar cheese instead and I love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was so good and super easy. I ate a whole slice cold waiting for the others to fry. Left out the salt completely and used white cornmeal. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States