Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
DCKatie is correct in Saying this is a good basic muffin that can be adapted. I used lemon extract in place of the vanilla and added 1 tablespoon of lemon zest. To the final batter added one cup of frozen blueberries, I added a little chopped nuts to the muffin tops before popping in the oven. These cooked to perfection with beautiful high peaks. Thank you for sharing I will certainly be baking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were moist and delicious. I found the batter way too stiff until I added the fruit but after that it looked more like muffin batter and less like cookie dough. I would recommend watching the time as I left them in for only 16 minutes and they were still a little overdone. I added almond extract and cherry preserves and topped with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful!! I added about a cup of Raspberries & a cup of Blueberries to the mix & they turned out amazing.. cant wait for more berries come into season so I can try different combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great basic recipe. I reduced the flour to 2 cups per another reviewer. >>> 03/02/12 APPLE MUFFINS: Added 1 cup peeled/chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins & 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Very, very good. Next time I'll up the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. >>> 03/06/12 DATE NUT MUFFINS: Replaced white sugar w/brown, reduced nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. Added 1 cup chopped dates (which I soaked in 3 Tb hot water), 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup walnuts & 1/2 cup raisins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made these blueberry muffins by folding two cups of fresh blueberries into the batter when I added the dry ingredients. I sprinkled a little sugar over each muffin before baking. Very good. I'll try these again with chopped Granny Smith apples and apple pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These muffins taste great, they were a nice color and texture... my kids loved them but the papers stick to the muffins... why does it do that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I had buttermilk to use and actually found this recipe by a beautiful picture that lutzflcat posted on 31, Dec. The muffin is nice and moist and held it's shape nicely. I also had huge blackberries to use, so I added those to this recipe. My regular size muffin tins must be smaller than other regular size tins as I got 18 muffins from this recipe. Nice base for a muffin and as the submitter suggests, very easy to add your own "add-ins".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This really is exactly what the recipe title states: a basic muffin. It's light, moist, and the perfect base for embellishing however you'd like. I added chopped apples and some cinnamon to the batter and then before baking, sprinkled the tops with a cinnamon-sugar mixture. As instructed, I filled the muffin batter almost to the top and ended up with ten nice-sized muffins. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a great base! I prefer using whole wheat flour so I used 2 cups. And I switched out the white sugar for cane sugar. 1 tsp of cinnamon. 1 cup of blueberries and 1/2 a cup of chopped pecans. They turned out moist and delicious! Cant wait to try with other fruit! Thanks DCKatie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Just a comment for everybody on the stiffness - it is a pretty stiff batter, but one thing that might help is that I weigh my flour - 303 grams is about 2 1/4 cups for me, but your flour may be heavier/more packed! Try weighing out 303 grams and see if that helps. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States