Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful!! I added about a cup of Raspberries & a cup of Blueberries to the mix & they turned out amazing.. cant wait for more berries come into season so I can try different combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great basic recipe. I reduced the flour to 2 cups per another reviewer. >>> 03/02/12 APPLE MUFFINS: Added 1 cup peeled/chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins & 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Very, very good. Next time I'll up the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. >>> 03/06/12 DATE NUT MUFFINS: Replaced white sugar w/brown, reduced nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. Added 1 cup chopped dates (which I soaked in 3 Tb hot water), 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup walnuts & 1/2 cup raisins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made these blueberry muffins by folding two cups of fresh blueberries into the batter when I added the dry ingredients. I sprinkled a little sugar over each muffin before baking. Very good. I'll try these again with chopped Granny Smith apples and apple pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These muffins taste great, they were a nice color and texture... my kids loved them but the papers stick to the muffins... why does it do that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I had buttermilk to use and actually found this recipe by a beautiful picture that lutzflcat posted on 31, Dec. The muffin is nice and moist and held it's shape nicely. I also had huge blackberries to use, so I added those to this recipe. My regular size muffin tins must be smaller than other regular size tins as I got 18 muffins from this recipe. Nice base for a muffin and as the submitter suggests, very easy to add your own "add-ins".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This really is exactly what the recipe title states: a basic muffin. It's light, moist, and the perfect base for embellishing however you'd like. I added chopped apples and some cinnamon to the batter and then before baking, sprinkled the tops with a cinnamon-sugar mixture. As instructed, I filled the muffin batter almost to the top and ended up with ten nice-sized muffins. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a great base! I prefer using whole wheat flour so I used 2 cups. And I switched out the white sugar for cane sugar. 1 tsp of cinnamon. 1 cup of blueberries and 1/2 a cup of chopped pecans. They turned out moist and delicious! Cant wait to try with other fruit! Thanks DCKatie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Just a comment for everybody on the stiffness - it is a pretty stiff batter, but one thing that might help is that I weigh my flour - 303 grams is about 2 1/4 cups for me, but your flour may be heavier/more packed! Try weighing out 303 grams and see if that helps. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I love baking with buttermilk because always produces a tender muffin. I am sure that this recipe calls for too much flour. I find that 2 cups is ample and this way do not have to add more liquid. Also suggest using an ex. large egg. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, then added 1 tsp cinnamon, chopped apples, and some raisins. The flavor is good, but, as another reviewer noted, the batter is VERY stiff. I added about 1/4 C more buttermilk. Still very stiff, and possibly now over-mixed. Only baked about 17 minutes, and they were still dry. I'll try again, but I'll adjust the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States