Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I didn't read the reviews so I followed it exactly, subbing choc chips. The batter was thick but really good flavour. I will add more buttermilk next time but this is a great muffin base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loveeragon
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I really like these muffins. They were super easy to make, and I like that they are so versatile. I only used 2 cups of flour as suggested in another submitter, and am glad I did. I also used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in place of the nutmeg (I didn't have any), and substituted half the white sugar with brown sugar. In half of the batter, I added some chopped up craisins. In the other half, I add some mini chocolate chips and a healthy squirt of honey. After spooning the batter into a muffin tin, I sprinkled the craisin muffins with a little bit of sugar (also suggested by another submitter). When they came out of the oven, they were perfect! Thank you so much for submitting this recipe; these are now my go- to muffins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
If you find that any recipe is sticking to your paper liners you can lightly spray them with pan release spray and they'll peel right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Just okay. Much dryer than I wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It was yummmyyy! I cut them in half and put cream cheese in it tasted amazing (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Beautiful muffins, and they taste great. They do come apart pretty badly when you try to separate them from the muffin liner papers. I would try using a greased muffin tin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great muffins! I added blueberries, white chocolate chips and a little lemon extract. I didn't use the nutmeg - I don't care for it. I forgot to set the timer so I ended up cooking them a lot longer than I normally would have - but it ended up being a good thing! The tops were nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Overall a great recipe, however, I don't care for the nutmeg as a base for other ingredients. Once I omit the nutmeg it's a great foundation for any type of muffin I can dream up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
DCKatie is correct in Saying this is a good basic muffin that can be adapted. I used lemon extract in place of the vanilla and added 1 tablespoon of lemon zest. To the final batter added one cup of frozen blueberries, I added a little chopped nuts to the muffin tops before popping in the oven. These cooked to perfection with beautiful high peaks. Thank you for sharing I will certainly be baking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were moist and delicious. I found the batter way too stiff until I added the fruit but after that it looked more like muffin batter and less like cookie dough. I would recommend watching the time as I left them in for only 16 minutes and they were still a little overdone. I added almond extract and cherry preserves and topped with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States