Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Yikes. These did not work for me. The batter was so dry I just had to add 1/4 cup more of buttermilk. In my opinion there is just too much flour in this recipe. I usually read many reviews before trying a recipe and I didn't this time. Wish I did. I added blueberries to mine but the flavour of the "biscuit muffin" just isn't there. I understand what everyone means by the muffin sticking to the paper. Only half the actual muffin comes out whole. I won't be making these again. Sorry DCKatie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is a solid, basic recipe that lends itself beautifully to creativity. I added 1/2 cup of Craisins, 1/2 cup white chocolate chips and 2 tsp dried orange rind. I especially like the fact the muffin isn't too sweet so depending on what you add this could be a good option for breakfast. Thanks, DCKatie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great recipe. Easy to follow instructions. I followed recipe, I didn't add any extra ingredients. Just don't over mix batter. I got twelve muffins which were moist. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this recipe but added the eggs and whisked them in using the eggshells as calcium, put in some peanut butter and mixed veggies, and viola! Bird Muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fluffenutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome, light, moist muffins. Mixed 1C diced pears into sifted flour, with a dash of cinnamon (yes, flour before adding the liquids) and substituted honey for the sugar. Taste GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I also used 2 cups of flour only and added 1 cup of dark choc chips. The recipe yielded 12 muffins and 18 mini muffins. Also found that the muffin stuck to the paper, will definitely use spray and cook next time. All in all a great recipe that's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Tastes great and fun to try different add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I really enjoyed these! Had some buttermilk to use up and didn't want to do pancakes again and found this! Threw in some frozen mixed berries from the freezer to use up and skipped the nutmeg (didn't think it would go). Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
A very good basic muffin recipe. The only change I did was to cut the flour down to 2 cups (as suggested by others). After mixing batter, I divided it in half, adding mini chocolate chips to first half & on tops of muffins. . .AND then to the other half, I added 1/2 cup peeled/chopped Granny Smith apple and cinnamon/sugar sprinkled on top. Used paper liners, and they did not stick at all. A very nice, light-textured muffin (I got 12 regular size). Next time, I may add some cinnamon to the batter. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love the simplicity and versatility of the recipe. I added strawberries at the request of my two-year-old. The batter is very thick, but it baked wonderfully. We really like how they are subtly sweet with the hint of nutmeg. This recipe made 18 standard-sized muffins - I filled the papers pretty full. I baked them Saturday evening and as of Monday morning only two are left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States