Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! My husband loves muffins and I'm always looking for a recipe that has all the things I have on hand ~ plus adding whatever else I want to. Thanks for sharing this! I'll be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
DCKatie is correct in Saying this is a good basic muffin that can be adapted. I used lemon extract in place of the vanilla and added 1 tablespoon of lemon zest. To the final batter added one cup of frozen blueberries, I added a little chopped nuts to the muffin tops before popping in the oven. These cooked to perfection with beautiful high peaks. Thank you for sharing I will certainly be baking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made these blueberry muffins by folding two cups of fresh blueberries into the batter when I added the dry ingredients. I sprinkled a little sugar over each muffin before baking. Very good. I'll try these again with chopped Granny Smith apples and apple pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a great base! I prefer using whole wheat flour so I used 2 cups. And I switched out the white sugar for cane sugar. 1 tsp of cinnamon. 1 cup of blueberries and 1/2 a cup of chopped pecans. They turned out moist and delicious! Cant wait to try with other fruit! Thanks DCKatie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loveeragon
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I really like these muffins. They were super easy to make, and I like that they are so versatile. I only used 2 cups of flour as suggested in another submitter, and am glad I did. I also used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in place of the nutmeg (I didn't have any), and substituted half the white sugar with brown sugar. In half of the batter, I added some chopped up craisins. In the other half, I add some mini chocolate chips and a healthy squirt of honey. After spooning the batter into a muffin tin, I sprinkled the craisin muffins with a little bit of sugar (also suggested by another submitter). When they came out of the oven, they were perfect! Thank you so much for submitting this recipe; these are now my go- to muffins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great basic recipe. I reduced the flour to 2 cups per another reviewer. >>> 03/02/12 APPLE MUFFINS: Added 1 cup peeled/chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins & 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Very, very good. Next time I'll up the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. >>> 03/06/12 DATE NUT MUFFINS: Replaced white sugar w/brown, reduced nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. Added 1 cup chopped dates (which I soaked in 3 Tb hot water), 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup walnuts & 1/2 cup raisins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Knew it would be raining by morning and wanted to start DH's day with a bit of sunshine. So, now these are my sunshine muffins! Please know that the dough is VERY stiff and if I had not added about another 1/4 cup of buttermilk, the blueberries I added would have been destroyed if they had not been frozen. These muffins have a delightful flavor. DH took 3 to work for AM coffee break and just called to tell me to save this recipe. Done! I'm making some to go in DD's freezer and using the suggested chopped apples and cinnamon. BIG hit! BIG, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Just a comment for everybody on the stiffness - it is a pretty stiff batter, but one thing that might help is that I weigh my flour - 303 grams is about 2 1/4 cups for me, but your flour may be heavier/more packed! Try weighing out 303 grams and see if that helps. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful!! I added about a cup of Raspberries & a cup of Blueberries to the mix & they turned out amazing.. cant wait for more berries come into season so I can try different combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great muffins! I added blueberries, white chocolate chips and a little lemon extract. I didn't use the nutmeg - I don't care for it. I forgot to set the timer so I ended up cooking them a lot longer than I normally would have - but it ended up being a good thing! The tops were nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States