Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made these blueberry muffins by folding two cups of fresh blueberries into the batter when I added the dry ingredients. I sprinkled a little sugar over each muffin before baking. Very good. I'll try these again with chopped Granny Smith apples and apple pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I love baking with buttermilk because always produces a tender muffin. I am sure that this recipe calls for too much flour. I find that 2 cups is ample and this way do not have to add more liquid. Also suggest using an ex. large egg. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! My husband loves muffins and I'm always looking for a recipe that has all the things I have on hand ~ plus adding whatever else I want to. Thanks for sharing this! I'll be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Just a comment for everybody on the stiffness - it is a pretty stiff batter, but one thing that might help is that I weigh my flour - 303 grams is about 2 1/4 cups for me, but your flour may be heavier/more packed! Try weighing out 303 grams and see if that helps. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, then added 1 tsp cinnamon, chopped apples, and some raisins. The flavor is good, but, as another reviewer noted, the batter is VERY stiff. I added about 1/4 C more buttermilk. Still very stiff, and possibly now over-mixed. Only baked about 17 minutes, and they were still dry. I'll try again, but I'll adjust the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great basic recipe. I reduced the flour to 2 cups per another reviewer. >>> 03/02/12 APPLE MUFFINS: Added 1 cup peeled/chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins & 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Very, very good. Next time I'll up the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. >>> 03/06/12 DATE NUT MUFFINS: Replaced white sugar w/brown, reduced nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. Added 1 cup chopped dates (which I soaked in 3 Tb hot water), 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup walnuts & 1/2 cup raisins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Knew it would be raining by morning and wanted to start DH's day with a bit of sunshine. So, now these are my sunshine muffins! Please know that the dough is VERY stiff and if I had not added about another 1/4 cup of buttermilk, the blueberries I added would have been destroyed if they had not been frozen. These muffins have a delightful flavor. DH took 3 to work for AM coffee break and just called to tell me to save this recipe. Done! I'm making some to go in DD's freezer and using the suggested chopped apples and cinnamon. BIG hit! BIG, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The first time I made this recipe it turned out dry. The second time I made it I changed the quanity and omitted a few ingred. Here's what I did the second time around; I let the butter soften instead of melting, omitted the baking powder but did use 1 tsp baking soda, used 2/3 cup of buttermilk, 1 1/2 cup of all purpose flour, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp of nutmeg and instead of whisking I used my kitchen aid. I creamed the butter and sugar together, added the egg and vanilla extract and beat til smooth. I did not sift the dry ingredients. I alternated the buttermilk with the dry ingredients. Sprayed baking Pam into the muffin pans. I filled each 2/3 full and topped with Jan's Crumb Topping or Streusel. Baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. They came out moist and very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I had buttermilk to use and actually found this recipe by a beautiful picture that lutzflcat posted on 31, Dec. The muffin is nice and moist and held it's shape nicely. I also had huge blackberries to use, so I added those to this recipe. My regular size muffin tins must be smaller than other regular size tins as I got 18 muffins from this recipe. Nice base for a muffin and as the submitter suggests, very easy to add your own "add-ins".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This really is exactly what the recipe title states: a basic muffin. It's light, moist, and the perfect base for embellishing however you'd like. I added chopped apples and some cinnamon to the batter and then before baking, sprinkled the tops with a cinnamon-sugar mixture. As instructed, I filled the muffin batter almost to the top and ended up with ten nice-sized muffins. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States